The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
The only way this could be a violation, then, is if A1 recovered the ball while he was still in the frontcourt, then stepped into the backcourt.

It's tough to tell from the TV angle if that's what happened.
what I saw was an OSU player dribbling the ball, deflected/touched by a Duke player, OSU player touches ball in attempt to recover, ball goes near backcourt line, OSU player (Aaron Craft) regains control by dribbling while his feet were clearly in the backcourt.

that, by rule is a back court violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 10:52am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
what I saw was an OSU player dribbling the ball, deflected/touched by a Duke player, OSU player touches ball in attempt to recover, ball goes near backcourt line, OSU player (Aaron Craft) regains control by dribbling while his feet were clearly in the backcourt.

that, by rule is a back court violation.
Are you saying an OSU player touched it in the FC after Duke tipped it but before the ball was touched by the player standing in the BC?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 10:54am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
what I saw was an OSU player dribbling the ball, deflected/touched by a Duke player, OSU player touches ball in attempt to recover, ball goes near backcourt line, OSU player (Aaron Craft) regains control by dribbling while his feet were clearly in the backcourt.

that, by rule is a back court violation.
I did not see that in the ESPN3 feed, I saw a Team B tip and then Team A begin his dribble while standing in the backcourt.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:02am
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Beach
Posts: 255
I was taught that if the ball had achieved backcourt status and you touched it... no violation. But, if your touch was what caused the status to change from frontcourt to backcourt, that was where the violation occured.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:06am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
I was taught that if the ball had achieved backcourt status and you touched it... no violation. But, if your touch was what caused the status to change from frontcourt to backcourt, that was where the violation occured.
Who taught you this and it was based on what?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:11am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Who taught you this and it was based on what?
The old Mary Struckoff interp debate.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:13am
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Beach
Posts: 255
I believe it was at an Associational training event... could have been VHSL... not certain
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:13am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
I was taught that if the ball had achieved backcourt status and you touched it... no violation. But, if your touch was what caused the status to change from frontcourt to backcourt, that was where the violation occured.
But that's not what the rule says.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:14am
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Beach
Posts: 255
Not saying I agree.......
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
Not saying I agree.......
I've been taught lots of incorrect things over the years by vets (even in training situations).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 12:51pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new request rainmaker Basketball 4 Thu Mar 02, 2006 01:07pm
I have a request The Ref of OZ!!! Football 9 Fri Mar 26, 2004 12:49pm
Appropriate help request? insatty Baseball 9 Wed May 28, 2003 01:27pm
Help request Ladybirdsho Swimming/Diving 0 Tue Nov 26, 2002 08:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1