The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:02am
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Beach
Posts: 240
I was taught that if the ball had achieved backcourt status and you touched it... no violation. But, if your touch was what caused the status to change from frontcourt to backcourt, that was where the violation occured.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:06am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
I was taught that if the ball had achieved backcourt status and you touched it... no violation. But, if your touch was what caused the status to change from frontcourt to backcourt, that was where the violation occured.
Who taught you this and it was based on what?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:11am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,816
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Who taught you this and it was based on what?
The old Mary Struckoff interp debate.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:13am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
I was taught that if the ball had achieved backcourt status and you touched it... no violation. But, if your touch was what caused the status to change from frontcourt to backcourt, that was where the violation occured.
But that's not what the rule says.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:13am
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Beach
Posts: 240
I believe it was at an Associational training event... could have been VHSL... not certain
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:14am
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Beach
Posts: 240
Not saying I agree.......
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 11:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
Not saying I agree.......
I've been taught lots of incorrect things over the years by vets (even in training situations).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 12:51pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 01:02pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,313
When I saw this last night, I thought it was a BC violation as the ball never got to the BC. But then if you judge that possession gained by the Duke player, then the answer would be no. And if you are not sure, then I can live with not making a call. I can see either way that I am able to break down the video.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 01:16pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Thanks APG for posting the video.

I'd be interested to see the opposite angle from floor level...basically the view the T had. I don't think the Duke player ever gained player control, and it's hard to tell exactly where Craft's feet are when he gains player control.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 01:17pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
But then if you judge that possession gained by the Duke player, then the answer would be no.
Why would Team B gaining possession matter in this case?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 01:21pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Why would Team B gaining possession matter in this case?
There is no team control, so when Team A gets the ball back, they are not going to be penalized for now taking possession off the ball and they are already considered to be in the BC.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 01:23pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
There is no team control, so when Team A gets the ball back, they are not going to be penalized for now taking possession off the ball and they are already considered to be in the BC.

Peace
OK, that makes sense but what if Team B never does gain possession? In this case weren't they last to touch the ball in the frontcourt?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 01:27pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
OK, that makes sense but what if Team B never does gain possession? In this case weren't they last to touch the ball in the frontcourt?
But if the ball never gained BC status without the touch of the Team A player, what is the status of the ball?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2011, 01:29pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
But if the ball never gained BC status without the touch of the Team A player, what is the status of the ball?

Peace
So you're arguing in favor of the dreaded NFHS interpretation? I can't see a touch being both simultaneously the last in the frontcourt and the first in the backcourt.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new request rainmaker Basketball 4 Thu Mar 02, 2006 01:07pm
I have a request The Ref of OZ!!! Football 9 Fri Mar 26, 2004 12:49pm
Appropriate help request? insatty Baseball 9 Wed May 28, 2003 01:27pm
Help request Ladybirdsho Swimming/Diving 0 Tue Nov 26, 2002 08:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1