The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 44
Designated spot Throw-in muffed??

According to Case 9.2.1 Situation B (A-1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-inb) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. RULING: a throw in violation shall be called on A-1 for leaving the designated spot.)

Question? Can A-1 call a time-out to not cause a violation?

I am in a discussion concerning this. And I am in the thinking that they can call a timeout because by rule a timeout can be granted while the ball is at the disposal of a player. I cited 4.4.7 that the ball is at the disposal once it is handed or thrown to the player. (nothing specifically says they must maintain control. Similar to the ref placing the ball on the ground and beginning his 5 second count. It is not in their control but it is at their disposal??)

Any help?
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:11pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
No they cannot call a timeout because the ball is not at their disposal anymore and the other team now has a chance to get the ball. I would equate this like an interrupted dribble or fumble.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
No they cannot call a timeout because the ball is not at their disposal anymore and the other team now has a chance to get the ball. I would equate this like an interrupted dribble or fumble.

Peace
No longer at their disposal? Based on what?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:27pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No longer at their disposal? Based on what?
The thrower once has the ball and now the ball is rolling around on the court. The throw-in has not ended, but they do not have control of it anymore. Not sure how you can call a time out if you no longer have the ball in your possession. That is my take without some hard rules evidence to dispute that point of view.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The thrower once has the ball and now the ball is rolling around on the court. The throw-in has not ended, but they do not have control of it anymore. Not sure how you can call a time out if you no longer have the ball in your possession. That is my take without some hard rules evidence to dispute that point of view.

Peace
The same way a team can request a timeout when the official puts the ball down for RPP. They aren't holding it, but it's still at their disposal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The same way a team can request a timeout when the official puts the ball down for RPP. They aren't holding it, but it's still at their disposal.
Do you have a reference that suggests the ball is still at their disposal after a fumble?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The same way a team can request a timeout when the official puts the ball down for RPP. They aren't holding it, but it's still at their disposal.
I think that there's a relevant difference. When the ball is on the floor during RPP, it's at the disposal of the player because he can pick it up without violating. Once he's fumbled it away from the spot, he can't.

I don't think the ball is still at his disposal; I'm not sure it follows that he can't call a TO. IOW, I'm not convinced the issue turns on whether the ball is at the disposal of A.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
No they cannot call a timeout because the ball is not at their disposal anymore and the other team now has a chance to get the ball. I would equate this like an interrupted dribble or fumble.

Peace
How exactly does the other team have the "chance to get the ball"?

Last edited by fiasco; Thu Nov 10, 2011 at 12:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick43 View Post
According to Case 9.2.1 Situation B (A-1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-inb) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. RULING: a throw in violation shall be called on A-1 for leaving the designated spot.)

Question? Can A-1 call a time-out to not cause a violation?

I am in a discussion concerning this. And I am in the thinking that they can call a timeout because by rule a timeout can be granted while the ball is at the disposal of a player. I cited 4.4.7 that the ball is at the disposal once it is handed or thrown to the player. (nothing specifically says they must maintain control. Similar to the ref placing the ball on the ground and beginning his 5 second count. It is not in their control but it is at their disposal??)

Any help?
Yes, they can request a TO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
designated throw in spot? fan Basketball 5 Fri Nov 30, 2007 03:46pm
Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 PConley Basketball 2 Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm
Designated spot throw ins Art N Basketball 14 Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am
Designated Spot Throw-in Fox40 Basketball 4 Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1