The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
FED Reaching Through the Plane

B has previously been warned for reaching through the plane on a throw-in (or, for that matter, any of the other three warnings). B2 reaches through the plane on a throw-in and contacts A1.

Ruling? (I'm pretty sure I know this) Reference? (Couldn't find it last night in the meeting since the lights were off for the slide show, and forgot my books this morning)

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 08:29am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
B has previously been warned for reaching through the plane on a throw-in (or, for that matter, any of the other three warnings). B2 reaches through the plane on a throw-in and contacts A1.

Ruling? (I'm pretty sure I know this) Reference? (Couldn't find it last night in the meeting since the lights were off for the slide show, and forgot my books this morning)

Thanks
I cannot find a specific ruling or case play as to whether it should be a Team Tech or an Intentional Foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Oct 26, 2011 at 08:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 08:38am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Intentional foul. I just looked quickly and can't find the case play, but we've always penalized the contact if it's there. For example, if there has been no previous warning, and B1 reaches through the plane and contacts the thrower-in, we don't assess the warning (because it happened first) and ignore the contact. We assess both the warning and the intentional foul (or technical foul, if B1 contacts the ball, rather than the thrower-in).

I think your situation would be the same. Penalize the contact, but not the breaking of the plane.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 08:55am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I'm incline to agree with Scrappy. If a player were to reach through the plane and touch the ball with a prior warning, we would issue a single techincal foul for the end result of the act. I see this as being the same thing, penalize the end result.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
In the definitions of rules under section 19, addressing intentional fouls:

Rule 4-19-3e "Contact with a thrower-in as in 9-2-10 Penalty 4 " ......

Rule 9-2-10 under penalties: " 4. If an opponent(s) contacts the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. "

Last edited by DrPete; Wed Oct 26, 2011 at 09:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
If this action (foul) occurs prior to any warning, is the act itself now also a warning for a later plane violation?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:17am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
If this action (foul) occurs prior to any warning, is the act itself now also a warning for a later plane violation?
Yes, 10.3.10 Situation C.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
If this action (foul) occurs prior to any warning, is the act itself now also a warning for a later plane violation?
I thought for sure contact was an automatic intentional this year, being pre-warned or not? Don't have my book(s) handy, but if anyone does and could offer a ruling (even proving me wrong) I'd appreciate it!
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:18am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
B has previously been warned for reaching through the plane on a throw-in (or, for that matter, any of the other three warnings). B2 reaches through the plane on a throw-in and contacts A1.

Ruling? (I'm pretty sure I know this) Reference? (Couldn't find it last night in the meeting since the lights were off for the slide show, and forgot my books this morning)

Thanks
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:21am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
Guess I didn't dig deep enough.

Of course if Nevada were assessing the situation I'm just a lazy official.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Oct 28, 2011 at 02:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2011, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Guess I didn't dig deep enough.

Of if Nevada were accessing the situation I'm just a lazy official.
Nah, just someone who has trouble spelling.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2011, 06:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
Who You Gonna Call ???



The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team delay warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team delay warning will be recorded. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane, and fouls the inbounding player, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team delay warning will be recorded. It is an intentional personal foul if the defender fouls the inbounding player, even without breaking the imaginary plane, however, in this specific case, there is no delay of game warning because the defender did not break the boundary plane.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 06:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
Nice Citation Scrapper1 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
10.3.10 SITUATION D: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through
the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Earlier in the game,
Team B had received a team warning for delay. RULING: Even though Team B had
already been issued a warning for team delay, when B1breaks the plane and subsequently
contacts the ball in the thrower’s hand, it is considered all the same act
and the end result is penalized. A player technical foul is assessed to B1; two free
throws and a division line throw-in for Team A will follow. The previous warning
for team delay still applies with any subsequent team delay resulting in a team
technical foul. (4-47; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-1-5c)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:38pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
10.3.10 SITUATION D: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through
the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Earlier in the game,
Team B had received a team warning for delay. RULING: Even though Team B had
already been issued a warning for team delay, when B1breaks the plane and subsequently
contacts the ball in the thrower’s hand, it is considered all the same act
and the end result is penalized. A player technical foul is assessed to B1; two free
throws and a division line throw-in for Team A will follow. The previous warning
for team delay still applies with any subsequent team delay resulting in a team
technical foul. (4-47; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-1-5c)
What page in the case book? Thanks for the bread crumbs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defense reaching through plane on throw in. Damian Basketball 30 Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:30pm
Reaching for a T Chess Ref Basketball 15 Fri Dec 21, 2007 06:53am
OTB and Reaching KCRef Basketball 15 Wed Mar 28, 2007 06:27pm
11.1 REACHING BEYOND THE NET - for '05-'06 OmniSpiker Volleyball 3 Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:51am
"Over the back and Reaching in" stmaryrams Basketball 2 Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1