The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:18am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
B has previously been warned for reaching through the plane on a throw-in (or, for that matter, any of the other three warnings). B2 reaches through the plane on a throw-in and contacts A1.

Ruling? (I'm pretty sure I know this) Reference? (Couldn't find it last night in the meeting since the lights were off for the slide show, and forgot my books this morning)

Thanks
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:21am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
Guess I didn't dig deep enough.

Of course if Nevada were assessing the situation I'm just a lazy official.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Oct 28, 2011 at 02:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2011, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Guess I didn't dig deep enough.

Of if Nevada were accessing the situation I'm just a lazy official.
Nah, just someone who has trouble spelling.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2011, 06:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,495
Who You Gonna Call ???



The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team delay warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team delay warning will be recorded. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane, and fouls the inbounding player, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team delay warning will be recorded. It is an intentional personal foul if the defender fouls the inbounding player, even without breaking the imaginary plane, however, in this specific case, there is no delay of game warning because the defender did not break the boundary plane.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 06:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,495
Nice Citation Scrapper1 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Just found the reference. 10.3.10 Situation D.
10.3.10 SITUATION D: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through
the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Earlier in the game,
Team B had received a team warning for delay. RULING: Even though Team B had
already been issued a warning for team delay, when B1breaks the plane and subsequently
contacts the ball in the thrower’s hand, it is considered all the same act
and the end result is penalized. A player technical foul is assessed to B1; two free
throws and a division line throw-in for Team A will follow. The previous warning
for team delay still applies with any subsequent team delay resulting in a team
technical foul. (4-47; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-1-5c)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 09:38pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
10.3.10 SITUATION D: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through
the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Earlier in the game,
Team B had received a team warning for delay. RULING: Even though Team B had
already been issued a warning for team delay, when B1breaks the plane and subsequently
contacts the ball in the thrower’s hand, it is considered all the same act
and the end result is penalized. A player technical foul is assessed to B1; two free
throws and a division line throw-in for Team A will follow. The previous warning
for team delay still applies with any subsequent team delay resulting in a team
technical foul. (4-47; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-1-5c)
What page in the case book? Thanks for the bread crumbs
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
ANY contact with the thrower in is an IT. Contact with the ball out of bounds is a tech. I don't believe a warning is required for that. the warning would be for simply breaking the plane.

I would not asses a T and a warning and I should double check the books but I don't think they mention it done that way either.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 26, 2011, 11:35pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
ANY contact with the thrower in is an IT. Contact with the ball out of bounds is a tech. I don't believe a warning is required for that. the warning would be for simply breaking the plane.

I would not asses a T and a warning and I should double check the books but I don't think they mention it done that way either.
I'm issuing the warning and T...use the case book play mentioning the intentional foul as guidance if you need.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2011, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
ANY contact with the thrower in is an IT. Contact with the ball out of bounds is a tech. I don't believe a warning is required for that. the warning would be for simply breaking the plane.

I would not asses a T and a warning and I should double check the books but I don't think they mention it done that way either.
1) Contact with the inbounder (aka "thrower-in") is an IP, not an IT.

2) If the contact (with the ball or the inbounder) happens in the same act as breaking the plane, it's BOTH the foul AND the warning.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2011, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
What page in the case book? Thanks for the bread crumbs
Page 88 in the case book
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2011, 06:26pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
10.3.10 SITUATION D: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through
the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Earlier in the game,
Team B had received a team warning for delay. RULING: Even though Team B had
already been issued a warning for team delay, when B1breaks the plane and subsequently
contacts the ball in the thrower’s hand, it is considered all the same act
and the end result is penalized. A player technical foul is assessed to B1; two free
throws and a division line throw-in for Team A will follow. The previous warning
for team delay still applies with any subsequent team delay resulting in a team
technical foul. (4-47; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-1-5c)
Similar situation but instead of contact we have a breaking of the plane by defender after a warning was give to team for delay. Is this a TEAM TECHNICAL?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2011, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Similar situation but instead of contact we have a breaking of the plane by defender after a warning was give to team for delay. Is this a TEAM TECHNICAL?
You don't penalize a player with a technical for a delay when the TEAM has received a warning. The only time you would assess a T to the player is if he reaches through the plane and touches the ball while the thrower still has it. In that case, it's a T on the defender and a warning is issued if there's not previously been a warning.

Rookie, I'm not trying to be ugly but all these questions you ask are in the Rule Book and Case Book. Do you not study these two books?

May I suggest you study and then ask questions about things you don't understand as opposed to asking about plays that are specifically covered in the Case Book? I think you would learn and retain it more efficiently. After all, we're not going to be on the floor when you need a question answered.

Just a thought.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2011, 09:05pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
You don't penalize a player with a technical for a delay when the TEAM has received a warning. The only time you would assess a T to the player is if he reaches through the plane and touches the ball while the thrower still has it. In that case, it's a T on the defender and a warning is issued if there's not previously been a warning.

Rookie, I'm not trying to be ugly but all these questions you ask are in the Rule Book and Case Book. Do you not study these two books?

May I suggest you study and then ask questions about things you don't understand as opposed to asking about plays that are specifically covered in the Case Book? I think you would learn and retain it more efficiently. After all, we're not going to be on the floor when you need a question answered.

Just a thought.
I am going thru a 200 question exam and I am doing a dumpster dive into the book and there are things that don't make sense to me or that I need clarification on...so I am leaning on the Vets for some guidance
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2011, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Okay. It just doesn't seem like the questions are about clarifying anything. It seems more like you're just asking us the questions, straight off the exam.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defense reaching through plane on throw in. Damian Basketball 30 Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:30pm
Reaching for a T Chess Ref Basketball 15 Fri Dec 21, 2007 06:53am
OTB and Reaching KCRef Basketball 15 Wed Mar 28, 2007 06:27pm
11.1 REACHING BEYOND THE NET - for '05-'06 OmniSpiker Volleyball 3 Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:51am
"Over the back and Reaching in" stmaryrams Basketball 2 Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1