![]() |
|
View Poll Results: Your Call? | |||
Block |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
13 | 61.90% |
Charge |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
4 | 19.05% |
No Call |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
4 | 19.05% |
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll |
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
*You're right ![]() 4-23 Guarding ART. 1...Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent...
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. Last edited by APG; Wed Aug 31, 2011 at 02:09pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
And even in the US, I'm NOT calling this a block since the airborne player dumped the ball off to a teammate who was in great position for a very short range shot....either getting 2 points or getting fouled while shooting. Calling that block would penalize the offensive team.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Here are the appropriate fiba rules:
33.3 Legal guarding position A defensive player has established an initial legal guarding position when: He is facing his opponent, and He has both feet on the floor. The legal guarding position extends vertically above him (cylinder) from the floor to the ceiling. He may raise his arms and hands above his head or jump vertically but he must maintain them in a vertical position inside the imaginary cylinder. 33.6 A player who is in the air A player who has jumped into the air from a place on the playing court has the right to land again at the same place. He has the right to land on another place on the playing court provided that the landing place and the direct path between the take-off and landing place is not already occupied by an opponent(s) at the time of take-off. If a player has taken off and landed but his momentum causes him to contact an opponent who has taken a legal guarding position beyond the landing place, the jumper is responsible for the contact. An opponent may not move into the path of a player after that player has jumped into the air. Moving under a player who is in the air and causing contact is usually an unsportsmanlike foul and in certain circumstances may be a disqualifying foul. 33.8 Charging Charging is illegal personal contact, with or without the ball, by pushing or moving into an opponent’s torso.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
Appears to be the same (but you didn't quote the basic definition of guarding where the key element is located in the NFHS rules). If, in NFHS rules, B5 is not in the path, B5 is not even guarding, much less possessing LGP. Assuming the video is the official interpretation of being in the spot, it looks like FIBA only requires the feet to be in the spot to have satisfied the part about being in the path where then NFHS requires the body to be in the path.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
33.4 Guarding a player who controls the ball When guarding a player who controls (holding or dribbling) the ball, the elements of time and distance do not apply. The player with the ball must expect to be guarded and must be prepared to stop or change his direction whenever an opponent takes an initial legal guarding position in front of him, even if this is done within a fraction of a second. The guarding (defensive) player must establish an initial legal guarding position without causing contact before taking his position. Once the defensive player has established an initial legal guarding position, he may move to guard his opponent, but he may not extend his arms, shoulders, hips or legs to prevent the dribbler from passing by him. When judging a charge/block situation involving a player with the ball, an official shall use the following principles: The defensive player must establish an initial legal guarding position by facing the player with the ball and having both feet on the floor. The defensive player may remain stationary, jump vertically, move laterally or backwards in order to maintain the initial legal guarding position. When moving to maintain the initial legal guarding position, one foot or both feet may be off the floor for an instant, as long as the movement is lateral or backwards, but not towards the player with the ball. Contact must occur on the torso, in which case the defensive player would be considered as having been at the place of contact first. Having established a legal guarding position the defensive player may turn within his cylinder to avoid injury. In any of the above situations, the contact shall be considered as having been caused by the player with the ball.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
For some reason I could not get the video to play on the full screen so I had to watch it on the small screen. That said, first, the definitions of guarding and screening for NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA are identical with the only deference being that the NFHS rules use the word "obtain" when defining a LGP and the NCAA and FIBA rules use the word "establish" which the NFHS use to use also. And every FIBA Casebook Play that I have read regarding legal and illegal contact during guarding and screening situations are consistent with NFHS and NCAA rulings.
Second, as I watched the video I observed the play as if I was the L. From that perspective W1 (the player to the L's left) established a LGP, but W2 (the player to the L's right) did not establish his position on the court until after B1 went airborne, AND it appeared to me that B1 made contact with W2 before making any contact with W1. Therefore W2 committed a blocking foul. MTD, Sr. P.S. And I am not making my decision based upon the fact that B1 is wearing the Royal Blue color of the Royal Family of the Kingdom of Italy, ![]()
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Thu Sep 01, 2011 at 09:05am. Reason: Added post script. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You make the call | azatcher | Basketball | 17 | Wed Feb 11, 2009 05:46pm |
Make the dam call!!! | CLH | Basketball | 56 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:23pm |
You make the call | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 16 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:18pm |
Did I Make The Right Call? | Al | Softball | 8 | Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:35pm |
What call would you make? | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Tue Mar 20, 2001 10:31pm |