The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: Your Call?
Block 13 61.90%
Charge 4 19.05%
No Call 4 19.05%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2011, 09:01am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,131
For some reason I could not get the video to play on the full screen so I had to watch it on the small screen. That said, first, the definitions of guarding and screening for NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA are identical with the only deference being that the NFHS rules use the word "obtain" when defining a LGP and the NCAA and FIBA rules use the word "establish" which the NFHS use to use also. And every FIBA Casebook Play that I have read regarding legal and illegal contact during guarding and screening situations are consistent with NFHS and NCAA rulings.

Second, as I watched the video I observed the play as if I was the L. From that perspective W1 (the player to the L's left) established a LGP, but W2 (the player to the L's right) did not establish his position on the court until after B1 went airborne, AND it appeared to me that B1 made contact with W2 before making any contact with W1. Therefore W2 committed a blocking foul.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. And I am not making my decision based upon the fact that B1 is wearing the Royal Blue color of the Royal Family of the Kingdom of Italy, .
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Thu Sep 01, 2011 at 09:05am. Reason: Added post script.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2011, 10:23am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
4-23...
b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent.
Thanks for that. I've had "two feet on the floor, facing the opponent" in my head, a little incomplete.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
it appeared to me that B1 made contact with W2 before making any contact with W1.
I thought the contact was simultaneous, but I agree that only one of them had LGP.

So, here's a solution: double foul. Team control on one, blocking on the other. Blue ball on the endline (NFHS rule set), let's play. (Have fun explaining it, though.)
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2011, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
So, here's a solution: double foul. Team control on one, blocking on the other. Blue ball on the endline (NFHS rule set), let's play. (Have fun explaining it, though.)
Did you forget your ?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You make the call azatcher Basketball 17 Wed Feb 11, 2009 05:46pm
Make the dam call!!! CLH Basketball 56 Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:23pm
You make the call Back In The Saddle Basketball 16 Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:18pm
Did I Make The Right Call? Al Softball 8 Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:35pm
What call would you make? Gre144 Baseball 1 Tue Mar 20, 2001 10:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1