The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2011, 01:22pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I have a block (or nothing).

B1 was not legally in the spot that is now in A1's path. B1 is moving but was never facing A1....thus never had LGP and right to be moving at the time of contact even if it was lateral relative to A1's path.
Agreed. The only way I'd have a charge is if A1 contacted B1 with an outstretched limb.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2011, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Agreed. The only way I'd have a charge is if A1 contacted B1 with an outstretched limb.
Some of the smarter players use their bodies (dip the shoulder or throw the hip) to displace the defender too.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2011, 01:37pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Agreed. The only way I'd have a charge is if A1 contacted B1 with an outstretched limb.
Really? What if A1 lowers his/her shoulder and absolutely blasts into B1? No PC foul then?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2011, 02:27pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
What if A1 lowers his/her shoulder and absolutely blasts into B1?
The upper limb includes the shoulder. I did say "outstretched," though. Good catch. Yes, PC.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2011, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Really? What if A1 lowers his/her shoulder and absolutely blasts into B1? No PC foul then?
Maybe, Maybe not (most likely in your specific scenario).

I don't call a PC just because A1's shoulder is down and it contacts B1. B1 still has to be in the path legally...and B1 wasn't in this case.

That said, if A1 just blasts B1 for the sake of blasting B1 as your scenario suggests, PC.

There is nothing I've seen in the rules requiring A1 to keep any specific body orientation as they move around the court. The rules requiring the arms, hips, legs, etc. to remain in the frame of the torso all have to do with guarding and screening....and A1 isn't doing either (usually).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Aug 29, 2011 at 03:30pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
established legal guard position but too close to an opponent without the ball? christianH Basketball 23 Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:47pm
Legal Guarding Position MatthewPV Basketball 8 Sat Jan 24, 2009 06:04pm
OOB/Legal Guarding Position SOWB_Ref Basketball 4 Wed Mar 05, 2003 10:31am
Legal guarding position co2ice Basketball 30 Tue Jan 22, 2002 12:08am
Legal guarding position MOFFICIAL Basketball 4 Mon Jan 21, 2002 08:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1