![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
B1 was not legally in the spot that is now in A1's path. B1 is moving but was never facing A1....thus never had LGP and right to be moving at the time of contact even if it was lateral relative to A1's path. If, however, A1 made the contact solely for the sake of making contact, I'll probably call nothing....tough luck A1.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Aug 29, 2011 at 12:56pm. |
|
|||
|
Agreed. The only way I'd have a charge is if A1 contacted B1 with an outstretched limb.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
|
Some of the smarter players use their bodies (dip the shoulder or throw the hip) to displace the defender too.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
|
Really? What if A1 lowers his/her shoulder and absolutely blasts into B1? No PC foul then?
|
|
|||
|
The upper limb includes the shoulder. I did say "outstretched," though. Good catch. Yes, PC.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't call a PC just because A1's shoulder is down and it contacts B1. B1 still has to be in the path legally...and B1 wasn't in this case. That said, if A1 just blasts B1 for the sake of blasting B1 as your scenario suggests, PC. There is nothing I've seen in the rules requiring A1 to keep any specific body orientation as they move around the court. The rules requiring the arms, hips, legs, etc. to remain in the frame of the torso all have to do with guarding and screening....and A1 isn't doing either (usually).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Aug 29, 2011 at 03:30pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Camron: In my play, A1 and B1 are moving in the same direction along parallel paths, meaning that B1 is setting a legal moving screen against A1 within A1's vision. If A1 moves into B1 and displaces B1 from his path, then A1 has committed a pushing foul. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Plus, B1 isn't setting a screen, B1 is guarding. Additionally, defenders never have the right to a path relative to the ball handler. They have a right to a path only when being screened and the screen is late or moving. The only path that matters in situations involving a dribbler is the dribbler's path (unless the dribbler is setting a screen).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Aug 29, 2011 at 11:31pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Basically, you have two players that are moving such that their paths intersect. At least one of the two has the right to be moving at that time (sometimes both, but not in this case). To determine which, you have to decide if A1 is screening or B1 is guarding. Who is trying to get to where? Where is the defender trying go? Who is he trying to guard? Usually, the defender is attempting to guard the player with the ball. If it were a screen, who is the screen set for, who is it freeing up? If A1 is trying to cut to the basket or otherwise make a play with B1 is trying to stop A1, this simply can not be a screen, it is a guarding situation. B1 must have LGP at the time of contact in order to be moving legally. If B1 is trying to get to another player in order to guard them (perhaps a pick-and-roll type of play where B1 is trying to cover the roller), A1 must set a legal screen....with time and distance. In the situation as presented, there is no indication that B1 was doing anything other than trying to stay with and guard A1. Thus, B1 is guarding (poorly) and A1 is not screening....guarding rules apply. During a guarding situation, the only path that matters is that of the offense...the defense must get in the spot before the offense. If they're running side by side, I don't see that the defender beat the player to any spot, the defender was late. Even if the dribbler did a perfect 90 turn toward the defender, the defender was moving and was never facing the dribbler...still a block.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| established legal guard position but too close to an opponent without the ball? | christianH | Basketball | 23 | Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:47pm |
| Legal Guarding Position | MatthewPV | Basketball | 8 | Sat Jan 24, 2009 06:04pm |
| OOB/Legal Guarding Position | SOWB_Ref | Basketball | 4 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 10:31am |
| Legal guarding position | co2ice | Basketball | 30 | Tue Jan 22, 2002 12:08am |
| Legal guarding position | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 4 | Mon Jan 21, 2002 08:45pm |