The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2003, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
ART. 2 . . . In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

Original situation indicated that there was a foul, A called TO, then ball was put in play, shot made, error noted. This is still correctable. A's timeout occurred during the deadball associated with the original foul call. Clock has not yet started. the clock starts when A inbounds, and then when A scores, we are in a correctable error situation until B has ball at disposal. At that point, ball is once again live and you can't correct anything.

As an aside, this is one of the more sides of correctable error that I don't like. Team A received possession as a result of the foul and subsequently scored, but will now also get to shoot the FTs as a result of the same foul. Seems like they are getting a 2 for 1 deal because of an error. People like to think of crrectable error as "righting a wrong," but some of the corrections seem just to perpetrate anther wrong IMO.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1