![]() |
|
|
|||
Never seen this before !
I saw an intentional striking of the ball with a foot and did NOT call a violation. Was I correct? Offensive player with the ball, bends over, holds the ball below his knees and begins a faking motion (side to side) prior to beginning a dribble. The defender kicks at the ball, but does not dislodge it. (NO ADVANTAGE) It had no affect on the offensive player, who then head-faked and went around the defender to score a lay-up. Very unusual. My decision was a no-call. Your opinions please.
__________________
Barry "the ref" Alman |
|
|||
Quote:
Yeah, very strange indeed. ...A soccer player. ![]() I'll call the kick and talk to the kicker. I don't want that happening again. mick |
|
|||
![]()
South Bay HHVBC, I'm curious on why you might consider it unsportsmanlike. Part of the game involves trying to get the ball from the opponent. I don't know of anything that singles out the feet as being unsporting. Sure, its a violation to kick the ball, but a T? Frankly, I liked the nocall from bossref.
|
|
|||
I understand the advantage/disadvantage logic behind taking away an easy two from the offense, however when the defender INTENTIONALLY kicked/touched the ball w/ his/her foot we need a kick here IMO. I think mick is correct in talking to the kicker as if some contact was created because of the kick, tempers could start flaring quickly. Unless this action was done w/ the intent of hurting the offensive player we would quickly get into trouble bringing the word "T" into this case play.
|
|
|||
Re: Why a T ?
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
You could get away with a no-call since the "kick" did not affect play....based upon what I see here, I would lean that way.
Calling the kick would not be incorrect, by rule, though...it's an advantage-disadvantage judgement call. Under NO circumstances would I call a "T" for this.....again, there was no game disruption, so what's the point?? Don't look for reasons to call a "T".....Find ways to avois them. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I did not see the play, so abviously it is tough to get a true feel. I see what you are saying, but I don't agree that you are creating a disadvantage with a no-call---
Similar to a little contact on a rebound that goes goes out of bounds off of the player who caused the contact. Are you going to call an foul on this when the right team will get the ball out of bounds anyway?? Of course not! (unless the contact was severe, of course) Suppose the player slapped the ball with his/hand??? You probably get the same head fake and same lay-up, ie, same result. IMHO, the "kick" was inconsequential. |
|
|||
Okay suppose we do it your way.
Quote:
Okay suppose we do it your way and the same defensive player does the same thing. No call again? Don't think so. Make the call once, and make it go away. mick |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
don't call it
You guys are getting way off point.
No reason to make it "go away"! It is the first time I've seen this in over 30 years of reffing. NOBODY in the game complained. I assign thousands of games a year and nobody has ever had this happen. The D was not acting in an unsporting manner, therefore no T. The offense was not affected, therefore no call. Just thought I'd bring something to the forum for food for thought.
__________________
Barry "the ref" Alman |
|
|||
In this case, I gotta go with the boos (and don't call me a suck-up!). Happens once, and no advantage, it's not a call. Let the offense take advantage of a bad play. Same player does it again, I think you gotta call it.
In the first case, I think you just don't see it. The second one is sometimes easier to see (maybe you got a better angle) ![]() |
|
|||
Re: don't call it
Quote:
I'm not being smart.I'm just very interested to see if you do have something that will back up your call,and prove the other poster's wrong. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|