![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
What does your book say? |
|
|||
Quote:
In these cases, the infraction is still a foul and the foul is still a block/hold/push/etc. and should be indicated as such. Only then should the extra be added...not in place of the defined signals. Quote:
I would suggest that calling this traveling is no better then stating/signaling a foul as "a reach" or "over-the-back". Just as there are no such infractions, there is no travelling on a throwin. Quote:
|
|
|||
D@mn! Four pages of posts in 12 hours. We guys sure have been busy today.
I was tired after reading just the first page! ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
Now I also don't think that this was a tough call, it was an obvious violation. Was it an intense situation? Yes. But I don't believe that it took any great intestinal fortitude to make this call. Just blow the little whistle. This official did that. That's great, but isn't that what he gets $500 to do? Even if he did know the rule, I have a problem with him not setting a good example for other officials, and for furthering confusion such as this: http://www.officialforum.com/thread/7090 Lastly, a big thanks to Camron, who has wonderfully captured my original purpose for this post in his points throughout this thread. |
|
|||
Quote:
a) you have sh1t D1 referees in your area b) he was pulling your leg c) he doesn't really do D1 (or D2, or D3). IMO.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Same book
Quote:
13.B.4(b) is on page 35. mick |
|
||||
I'll look there when I get home.
I think that by adding the new signal this season they may have introduced an inconsistency in the manual. I do know the D-I women's games I worked I've only seen that signal on all team control fouls. I like the signal, but don't think it really conveys any information other than "we're going the other way and not shooting free throws." Rich |
|
|||
Quote:
Rich, I am beginning to understand your above statement. And, yes, I agree that is the only signal to give when only a Team Control foul is reported. I did not understand that you were writing to the specifica case of "Team Control". mick |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|