Quote:
Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
IMO NO because until anyone of us gets there and has to sell a call such of this in front of a national TV audience we have no place questioning the use of this call in this sitch. I have already stated for previously stated reasons that this signal is not acceptable in lower level situations. [/B]
|
OK, so let me make sure I understand. Once you get to D-1, we can't question anything (even if it's wrong by the book) because you've now "made it?" D-1 refs are now untouchable? So if a D-1 official calls a travel while the player has no control, that's OK because it's a D-1 game? If a D-1 official calls a travel when a player catches their own airball, that's OK and they don't have to pay Tony their $5.00? I wouldn't dream of questioning a judgement call, but in this case, it appears from the signal given that this official is demonstrating a lack of rule knowledge. When I evaluate an official for our association, I would correct a young official for this incorrect signal. Can't I expect the same from a D-1 ref?
Z