![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The free throw lane rule had a lot more verbiage but yet it needed to clarified? Imagine that.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Needed it anyway, IMO, in both rule sets.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
I'm out of town on business so no access to my NFHS rule books. If you can quote me the 10-second rule I can elaborate.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Originally Posted by paraphrased
A player or his team may not be in continuous control of the ball in the backcourt for 10 seconds. I still believe "a player" refers to pc after the throw-in has legally ended & "or his team" refers to any tc after pc has been established. Call me Randy, but I just cant see beginning a 10 second count before the throw-in has legally ended.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
|
I would like for them to actually use the phrases "Team Control" and "Back Court Status".
We can on folks all the time for not using proper terminology yet this rule fails to do so on this particular rule. Of course this is just my opinion. YMMV.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Still waiting for answer to these (NCAA rules): BC throw-in. A1's entry pass hits A2 in the leg and the ball lands in the BC. BC throw-in. A1's entry pass hits B2 in the leg and the ball lands in the BC. When does the 10-second count start for those 2 situations based on the clearly written rule?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In any case, here are the answers to both your questions from the most recent (2011) NCAA casebook... A.R. 229. The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his/her front court near the division line.It appears that the NCAA considers a team to have team control for the purposes of fouling during thrown in but doesn't consider true "team control" to exist for anything else until the ball is caught/dribbled inbounds (player control). Two of your questions are directly answered above and one can be deduced.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Apr 26, 2011 at 03:32pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If they added about 10 words to the 10-second rule an official wouldn't need to deduce anything from a totally unrelated rules reference. I guess you prefer searching all over the book instead of adding 10 simple words. And considering the amount of times I put "(NCAA)" in my posts on this subject, and that my original statement was during a discussion about when to start a 3-second count on a throw-in, or that almost all my rule references come from NCAA-M I thought it was clear I was talking about team control throw-ins. Or at a minimum you should have been able to deduce it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Apr 26, 2011 at 04:34pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you've made additional statements, fine, I don't memorize them.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Lane Violation | coach_x | Basketball | 2 | Sat Jun 17, 2006 02:38am |
| Lane Violation or Not? | djskinn | Basketball | 4 | Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:08pm |
| lane violation | timharris | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:26pm |
| 3-sec lane violation | red | Basketball | 10 | Fri Dec 12, 2003 09:27am |
| Lane Violation | John Choiniere | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 07, 2000 11:02am |