The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Newport News Virginia
Posts: 77
A=OFFENSE B=DEFENSE


hello
just need a better clarification; the foul shooter has 2 shots but before the first shot is taken the defense steps in the lane, now i know this is a violation but during the attempt the shoter misses the rim is this a double violation or do you just count the violation on the defense and give the shooter 2 shots?

thanks all
__________________
Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions, they become habits. Watch your habits, they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.


Tim Harris
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 11:20pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

This is a double violation. The shooter violating in any way is the same as any other member of team B violating during a delayed call.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 15, 2004, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
I disagree. If the defender violates as the shooter is in the act of shooting, I have disconcertion and the violation by A1 is ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2004, 04:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,902
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
I disagree. If the defender violates as the shooter is in the act of shooting, I have disconcertion and the violation by A1 is ignored.
Disconcertion is more that merely committing a violation, in my humble opinion. I'm with Mark on this one = double violation, no point, go to the arrow if last attempt.

Tim for your reference: It is spelled out on page 55 of the Rules Book 9-1 Penalty section 4b.
"If the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3)."

But Tony (BktballRef) certainly has a point. Here is a play from the 2002-03 NFHS Basketball Interpretations:

SITUATION 15: On a final free-throw attempt by A1, B1 commits a lane violation. A1's free throw misses the ring and flange. RULING: Double violation, unless the officials deem B1's act to be disconcerting to the shooter. If this was the last of multiple free throws, play will be resumed by the alternating-possession procedure. (9-1-3, 9-1-5, 9-1-9 Penalty 3)

[Edited by Nevadaref on Dec 16th, 2004 at 05:47 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 2004, 12:26pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
I disagree. If the defender violates as the shooter is in the act of shooting, I have disconcertion and the violation by A1 is ignored.
The original post said the violation occurred before the shooter took the shoot, not as the shooter took the shot. I took that to mean they were to separate and unrelated acts.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1