The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 01:33pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Team Control Foul ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Not a violation under NCAA rules.
So as a NFHS rules are concerned, it would be same old, same old, with the exception that a foul by the offense during a throwin would be a team control foul, and thus, no free throws if in the bonus?

Are there any unintended consequences that we need to be aware of?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Apr 17, 2011 at 01:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 01:38pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So as a NFHS rules are concerned, it would be same old, same old, with the exception that a foul by the offense during a throwin would be a team control foul, and thus, no free throws if in the bonus?

Are there any other unintended consequences that we need to be aware of?
Provided NFHS makes the rule such that it matches the NCAA, we wouldn't handle this play any different than we do with NFHS save for a foul during the throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
I'm sure that's what Art 9 should mean and that is the way it is ruled, but that's not what it says - there is no "immediately" or some such word along with the "after throw-in ends".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 02:13pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonref View Post
I'm sure that's what Art 9 should mean and that is the way it is ruled, but that's not what it says - there is no "immediately" or some such word along with the "after throw-in ends".
What is confusing about the wording? Who said anything about immediately? Art. 9 says that even though there's team control, the team in control can cause the ball to go into the backcourt and retrieve the ball in the backcourt, after the throw-in ends (ball is legally touched), if player control hasn't been established.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Sun Apr 17, 2011 at 02:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 04:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
What is confusing about the wording? Who said anything about immediately? Art. 9 says that even though there's team control, the team in control can cause the ball to go into the backcourt and retrieve the ball in the backcourt, after the throw-in ends (ball is legally touched), if player control hasn't been established.
I don't think there's anything confusing about the rule, but it does seem to be worded poorly. I don't see anything in the rule itself that says "before player control is established following a throw-in." IOW, by strict reading, a player could catch the throw-in pass in the FC and pass to a teammate. That teammate could tip it into the BC w/o penalty.

Obviously, we know what the intent is, and verbal precision has never been a hallmark of rule writers, so it gets enforced as intended rather than as written.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 06:13pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I don't think there's anything confusing about the rule, but it does seem to be worded poorly. I don't see anything in the rule itself that says "before player control is established following a throw-in." IOW, by strict reading, a player could catch the throw-in pass in the FC and pass to a teammate. That teammate could tip it into the BC w/o penalty.

Obviously, we know what the intent is, and verbal precision has never been a hallmark of rule writers, so it gets enforced as intended rather than as written.
There is someone around here who will argue that we do not know the intent of the rule.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 06:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
There is someone around here who will argue that we do not know the intent of the rule.
And what he means is that he can't figure it out.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 02:26pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So as a NFHS rules are concerned, it would be same old, same old, with the exception that a foul by the offense during a throwin would be a team control foul, and thus, no free throws if in the bonus?

Are there any unintended consequences that we need to be aware of?
I believe someone brought this up in another thread. Currently in NFHS if there is an inadvertant whistle or double foul after the throw-in is legally touched but prior to either team gaining control then we should be going to the AP arrow for resolution. In NCAA there is team control by throw-in team and therefore a double foul or IW in that situation would give the ball back to the throw-in team.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 02:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I believe someone brought this up in another thread. Currently in NFHS if there is an inadvertant whistle or double foul after the throw-in is legally touched but prior to either team gaining control then we should be going to the AP arrow for resolution. In NCAA there is team control by throw-in team and therefore a double foul or IW in that situation would give the ball back to the throw-in team.
This'll teach me to open my big mouth and say we'd handle the play the EXACT same way.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 02:36pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I believe someone brought this up in another thread. Currently in NFHS if there is an inadvertant whistle or double foul after the throw-in is legally touched but prior to either team gaining control then we should be going to the AP arrow for resolution. In NCAA there is team control by throw-in team and therefore a double foul or IW in that situation would give the ball back to the throw-in team.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
This'll teach me to open my big mouth and say we'd handle the play the EXACT same way.
I wonder how many of us would actually handle the play correctly in NFHS as the rule is written now? I had never even considered that subtle difference prior to someone else bringing it up.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 03:34pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I believe someone brought this up in another thread. Currently in NFHS if there is an inadvertant whistle or double foul after the throw-in is legally touched but prior to either team gaining control then we should be going to the AP arrow for resolution. In NCAA there is team control by throw-in team and therefore a double foul or IW in that situation would give the ball back to the throw-in team.
Probably me, cause we had it happen in a juco game this season (partner called a backcourt violation incorrectly) and naturally the coaches thought we should've gone to the arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's just a guess vcblue Softball 6 Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:17am
Two out of three ain't bad, I guess Mark Padgett Basketball 5 Fri Nov 27, 2009 07:10pm
Is it right to guess? mj Basketball 18 Wed Mar 04, 2009 04:45pm
I guess they are going to do it. JRutledge Basketball 40 Sat Jun 19, 2004 01:11am
Let's Guess JugglingReferee Football 5 Fri Jan 05, 2001 01:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1