View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2011, 11:53am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
OK - I get Art. 8. But in Art. 9, what if A1 inbounds in front court to A2 who catches the ball, ending the throw-in, then A2 passes to A3 who has the ball bounce off his hand and go into the back court? Is Art. 9 "saying" that a member of team A can then retrieve it without a violation? I'm sure that's not the correct interp, but what would a scenario for Art. 9 be?

BTW - thanks APG
I think you're complicating the issue here. The backcourt rule in NCAA and NFHS is exactly the same. Art. 9 is saying a player can cause the ball to enter the backcourt after a throw-in is over when player control hasn't been established. This covers the situation where A taps a throw-in into the backcourt...if there wasn't that article, then that play would be a backcourt violation as all four criteria would be technically met. This exception doesn't apply in your case because A2 has caught the ball thus player control has been established.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote