The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 05:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rulesmaven View Post
On the end of the UNC/Washington game -- is the clock operator supposed to stop the clock when the ball lands or when an officials signals that play stops due to OOB?

When reviewing on video, what are they looking for? When the ball actually touched out of bounds or when it was signaled out of bounds?
1. How in the world is the clock operator supposed to see when the ball lands?

2. John Adams addressed this on TV. IOW, always listen to bob.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Syracuse/Marquette backcourt call

The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play?
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by jearef View Post
The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play?
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:06pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
It was incorrect. College and high school handles backcourt violations the exact same way.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?
The rule is no different in college. IMO, it should not have been a BC violation. However I think he may have travelled. I need to see the replay again.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 07:04am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The rule is no different in college. IMO, it should not have been a BC violation. However I think he may have travelled. I need to see the replay again.
You are wise beyond your years. I had the same thought in real time. After looking at the replay in the other thread, there was no OOB violation by rule but he did travel after the play. The first foot down( the one on the center line) was established as the pivot foot when the second foot landed after that. He then picked up his pivot foot and put it back down in the front court. He got the proper result on the play....violation... but for the wrong reason.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 07:11am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Thumbs up Our Time of the Year!

Ya gotta admit, with all the "controversies" going on in March Madness, the tournament was made for:

1) Fans,
2) Arm Chair Officials,
3) Critics,
4) TV,
5) Instant Replay,
6) Uniformed Announcers,
7) The internet (Forums, Chat Rooms, YouTube)
plus many more......

Great stuff!

And now, back to our regularly scheduled banter. Carry on!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 07:40am
biz biz is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
You are wise beyond your years. I had the same thought in real time. After looking at the replay in the other thread, there was no OOB violation by rule but he did travel after the play. The first foot down( the one on the center line) was established as the pivot foot when the second foot landed after that. He then picked up his pivot foot and put it back down in the front court. He got the proper result on the play....violation... but for the wrong reason.
Very true that it appears that he traveled, but in real time it's tough to say when he controls the ball. He appears to fumble the ball slightly with the one hand catch. While it is clear, when the video is slowed down, that he traveled it was far less clear at full speed.

It doesn't change the fact that this was not a backcourt violation which was the call. That is a tough miss in the closing seconds of a NCAA tournament game, and furthermore it is not a "judgement" call it was an improper application of the rules. I would love to hear what Mr. Adams has to say about this call, but unfortunately I don't think we'll hear from him on this because very few people realize that it was the improper call.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:09pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?
7-6
Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
7-6
Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.
You posted yours while I was typing mine. Guess my question is answered.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by jearef View Post
The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play?
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:18pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 View Post
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.
Just want to point out that there is team control during a throw-in under NCAA rules
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:19pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Marq/Syra

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 View Post
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.
Why is everyone referring to TC? There is quite certainly TC in NCAA-M on a throw-in. TC is irrelevant to whether or not a backcourt violation should have been called on this play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:27pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcso77 View Post
that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...
There is TC in NCAA-M on a throw-in. But TC is irrelevant on a throw-in b/c the backcourt exception is the same for NFHS as it is for NCAA.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
1. How in the world is the clock operator supposed to see when the ball lands?

2. John Adams addressed this on TV. IOW, always listen to bob.
Yeah, that's what I thought. But I think I've seen several situations this year where the put time back on the clock based on what the video shows as opposed to when there is a ref's signal -- fouls in particular.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) big jake Basketball 229 Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm
DP/Flex Redux Skahtboi Softball 19 Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm
Backcourt redux assignmentmaker Basketball 86 Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1