The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
I already reported it too. I also went in and put that idiot on ignore.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes View Post
I already reported it too. I also went in and put that idiot on ignore.
While I admire your (and everyone else's) enthusiasm for reporting this, I'd appreciate it if you did NOT report it. It just clogs up my inbox.

I check here as often as I'm able, and delte the spam when I see it. Reporting it doesn't get it deleted any sooner.

(Now, if I miss something, and it's there for a day or two, then, please, report it.)

(And, I check the general, baseball, basketball and testing forums. If it's in another form, then report it.)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
On the end of the UNC/Washington game -- is the clock operator supposed to stop the clock when the ball lands or when an officials signals that play stops due to OOB?

When reviewing on video, what are they looking for? When the ball actually touched out of bounds or when it was signaled out of bounds?
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by rulesmaven View Post
On the end of the UNC/Washington game -- is the clock operator supposed to stop the clock when the ball lands or when an officials signals that play stops due to OOB?

When reviewing on video, what are they looking for? When the ball actually touched out of bounds or when it was signaled out of bounds?
When the whistle blows.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 05:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rulesmaven View Post
On the end of the UNC/Washington game -- is the clock operator supposed to stop the clock when the ball lands or when an officials signals that play stops due to OOB?

When reviewing on video, what are they looking for? When the ball actually touched out of bounds or when it was signaled out of bounds?
1. How in the world is the clock operator supposed to see when the ball lands?

2. John Adams addressed this on TV. IOW, always listen to bob.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Syracuse/Marquette backcourt call

The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play?
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by jearef View Post
The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play?
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:06pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
It was incorrect. College and high school handles backcourt violations the exact same way.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?
The rule is no different in college. IMO, it should not have been a BC violation. However I think he may have travelled. I need to see the replay again.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 07:04am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The rule is no different in college. IMO, it should not have been a BC violation. However I think he may have travelled. I need to see the replay again.
You are wise beyond your years. I had the same thought in real time. After looking at the replay in the other thread, there was no OOB violation by rule but he did travel after the play. The first foot down( the one on the center line) was established as the pivot foot when the second foot landed after that. He then picked up his pivot foot and put it back down in the front court. He got the proper result on the play....violation... but for the wrong reason.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:09pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
I saw it, and it took a second, and then I realized it might be the wrong call. I'm sure it's wrong in HS.

But I also remember that college rules handle it slightly differently, and that it changed a year or two or three ago. Help please?
7-6
Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
7-6
Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.
You posted yours while I was typing mine. Guess my question is answered.
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by jearef View Post
The officials called a backcourt violation on Syracuse with approximately 30 seconds left. The violation occurred on a throw-in. Looked to me as if the player secured the ball while airborne, and landed with one foot on the division line, i.e., no violation. Anyone else see the play?
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:18pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 View Post
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.
Just want to point out that there is team control during a throw-in under NCAA rules
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:19pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Marq/Syra

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 View Post
What i saw was him landing in front court without ever starting team control and stepping on the line. Either way no BC violation. Is there a different rule for college.
Why is everyone referring to TC? There is quite certainly TC in NCAA-M on a throw-in. TC is irrelevant to whether or not a backcourt violation should have been called on this play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) big jake Basketball 229 Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm
DP/Flex Redux Skahtboi Softball 19 Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm
Backcourt redux assignmentmaker Basketball 86 Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1