The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 09:16pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcso77 View Post
that was not a back court, there is no team control on a throw in, cuse player was in the air, lands on the mid court line...
You're right but for the wrong reason. Under NCAA rules, there IS team control during a throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Art. 8. After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his/her front
court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the
playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one
or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down
was in the front court or back court.
Section 4.

based on this looks like they made the wrong call
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
The backcourt call was wrong. The play was a sideline thowin. The player jumped in the air and caught the ball near midcourt. He landed on one foot in the front court and his secondfoot landed on the division line. He then picked up his first/pivot foot and stepped in the front and turned his second foot into the front court. There was no backcourt because the player caught the ball in the air and landed with his first foot in the front court and his second foot in the backcourt which he is allowed to do. The violation should have been for travel when he lifted his pivot foot and then put that foot back on to the court.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 06:46am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
__________________
Pope Francis
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Exceesive Foul UConn / Cincinnati

Kemba Walker drove to the hole after he stole the ball and the UC defender came hard in an attempt to block the shot. An excessive contact foul was called against UC. I didn't see it that way.....

Don't know if it has been brought up earlier. Just wonderin what the brotherhood thought ??????

I have nothing. What was the UC defender suppose to do, go in soft???

Hey those guys are better than me - just want opinions..........
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 10:38am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
Kemba Walker drove to the hole after he stole the ball and the UC defender came hard in an attempt to block the shot. An excessive contact foul was called against UC. I didn't see it that way.....

Don't know if it has been brought up earlier. Just wonderin what the brotherhood thought ??????

I have nothing. What was the UC defender suppose to do, go in soft???

Hey those guys are better than me - just want opinions..........

Already discussed, in this thread, starting here:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Kemba had a breakout. #32 for UC attempts to block. Makes body contact from behind while Kemba is in the air and then fouls him going for the block. Both officials signal what I assume to mean excessive and not intentional. Seemed correct to me but I do not know what the wording of the NCAA rule is. Can someone paste it for me?
Read on from there for responses.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Snag what quote # was that ????
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) big jake Basketball 229 Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm
DP/Flex Redux Skahtboi Softball 19 Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm
Backcourt redux assignmentmaker Basketball 86 Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1