![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Sooooo....if one opponent steps OOB while tugging at the ball, even though one player never gained control of the ball and the ball might even subsequently come loose without there ever being dual possession attained, the FIBA call is a held ball even though there never was a held ball. Got it. Great logic. Have a held ball even when there never was a held ball. Gee, I can't figure out why that particular logic has never caught on in the other rulesets. ![]() Stoopid FIBA rulesmaker monkeys. |
|
|||
Quote:
If an OOB player touches a ball in control of a player in bounds it's simply OOB, of course. Would you call a held ball as soon as a player puts both hands on the ball in control of an opponent? I guess you won't; we won't either, even if the first player steps OOB before the "initial" conditions for a held ball are present. Ciao |
|
|||
Quote:
It's a simple call. See post #2 by BktBallRef. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Our rules and the FIBA rules...as per the discussion in this thread.. are completely different. That's what I'm saying. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
2) No, but if that player was OOB when he first puts both hands on the ball, we do call a violation on him. We also call a violation on that player if he steps OOB anytime after he first puts both hands on the ball but before dual control is attained. Under FIBA rules, you don't. It is what it is....a FIBA rule....but it just isn't logical to me. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Is it logical to you that the CE "failure to award merited free throws" can lead to a five or six point play? You fail to award bonus free throws to team A, which scores a three point field goal (maybe with a foul): three points, error correction (other two points) and possible bonus free throw. This makes 5 or 6 instead of 2. To me it isn't logical. ![]() Every rule set has its not so logical parts. Ciao |
|
|||
Quote:
Ciao |
|
|||
Quote:
OK. Got it. |
|
|||
Quote:
That was my point all along. |
|
|||
Quote:
Basketball is played inbounds. When a player goes OB, they have an advantage. However, FIBA believes (my speculation here) that "during the held ball", a player might be OB, but not on his own accord and without undue roughness. So, they've decided to go beyond an A.R. and just make it a rule. If so, it does nothing except increase consistency.
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|