![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The OOB "power" doesn't transfer from A1 to the ball and then to B1. Where I get this play often is after a shot attempt and the rebound goes towards the end line. A4 and B4 both go for the ball and I'd say a dozen times per year, one of the players touches the end line or beyond while touching the ball in an attempt to gain full control - all the while their opponent is doing the same thing, but inbounds.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Fiba rules: Quote:
Ciao |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Ciao |
|
|||
Quote:
Pizza and lasagna... Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Mar 08, 2011 at 06:38pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
But most people describe the action that precedes the judgment of the ball becoming dead as being "during a held ball". The FIBA rule is that they want the held ball to be enforced, rather than a violation. So their interp is that once a player commits a violation by stepping out of bounds or by returning to his backcourt, all the while two opponents are still tugging at the ball (but not yet untoward), the play is automatically deemed to be a held ball.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
Sooooo....if one opponent steps OOB while tugging at the ball, even though one player never gained control of the ball and the ball might even subsequently come loose without there ever being dual possession attained, the FIBA call is a held ball even though there never was a held ball. Got it. Great logic. Have a held ball even when there never was a held ball. Gee, I can't figure out why that particular logic has never caught on in the other rulesets. ![]() Stoopid FIBA rulesmaker monkeys. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|