The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Controlled tip does not equate to team control which is gained by HOLDING or dribbling the ball.
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 02:31pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".
If you would grant a timeout during said "control", then you've determined that there was player control. If there's player control, then there's team control.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 05:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Catch 22 ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
If you would grant a timeout during said "control", then you've determined that there was player control. If there's player control, then there's team control.
Circular logic. We've got to break this circle. It's been going on for far too long. Time for the NFHS to define "holding". They've defined just about everything else that occurs in the game.

Grant a timeout? Yes, if player is holding ball.
Player holding ball? Yes, if you would grant a timeout.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 05:40pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Circular logic. We've got to break this circle. It's been going on for far too long. Time for the NFHS to define "holding". They've defined just about everything else that occurs in the game.
What part of "the ball comes to rest" can't you understand, Billy? You know...rules 4-15-4(a) and 4-15-4(b)?

Now you're creating your very own Myth.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 05:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
What part of "the ball comes to rest" can't you understand, Billy? You know...rules 4-15-4(a) and 4-15-4(b)?

Now you're creating your very own Myth.
And as Bob says, sometimes you just have to referee.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Ball Comes To Rest ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
What part of "the ball comes to rest" can't you understand, Billy? You know...rules 4-15-4(a) and 4-15-4(b)?
The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both
hands.

The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or
both hands.

I know when a player is holding the ball. As Snaqwells, and bob jenkins, stated, it's part of refereeing.

I just don't think that we should be defining holding with a question as to whether, or not, we should be granting a request for a timeout, although the logic is, by rule, correct. Use the phrase, "the ball comes to rest", to decide whether, or not, to grant a timeout, or whether, or not, a player is holding a ball.

Grant a timeout? Yes, if the ball has come to rest in a player's hand.
Player holding ball? Yes, if the ball has come to rest in a player's hand.

It's neater, and I believe, more logical.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Feb 25, 2011 at 06:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Billy, no one has used that question as a definition. It's a helpful guide, nothing more.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both
hands.

The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or
both hands.

I just don't think that we should be defining holding with a question as to whether, or not, we should be granting a request for a timeout, although the logic is, by rule, correct. Use the phrase, "the ball comes to rest", to decide whether, or not, to grant a timeout, or whether, or not, a player is holding a ball.

Grant a timeout? Yes, if the ball has come to rest in a player's hand.
Player holding ball? Yes, if the ball has come to rest in a player's hand.

It's neater, and I believe, more logical.
Paralysis through analysis.

It`s a judgment call. And the judgment is, was and always will be whether the ball comes to rest in a player`s hand(s). It is that simple.

All your `logic`is doing is confusing people imo.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:50pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Paralysis through analysis.

It`s a judgment call. And the judgment is, was and always will be whether the ball comes to rest in a player`s hand(s). It is that simple.

All your `logic`is doing is confusing people imo.
+1. I'll call it when I see it and my call will be, by definition, the correct one. It's purely a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I just don't think that we should be defining holding with a question


We're (or at least I'm) not defining it with a question. While many officials have trouble with the "was it a throw or a bat" question, very few have trouble with the "would you grant a TO" question. Once they see that the questions are the same, then they have no trouble with the former.

It's a teaching tool. Like all such items, if it doesn't work for you, don't use it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2011, 03:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
I Am Nothing But A Lowly Grasshopper ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Of course, we could always ask ourselves if we would grant a request for a timeout during the bat in a jump ball? That would clinch the deal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
We're not defining it with a question. While many officials have trouble with the "was it a throw or a bat" question, very few have trouble with the "would you grant a TO" question. Once they see that the questions are the same, then they have no trouble with the former. It's a teaching tool..
Sounds good, as long as you don't use it, as you've already stated, as a some type of quasi definition.

Kind of like a simple litmus test?

By the way, I would not grant a request for a timeout while the ball is being tapped (batted), even if it was a controlled tap (bat), during a jump ball.

Guess the litmus paper turned red in this situation? (Thanks to Scrapper1 for the jump ball analogy.)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 26, 2011 at 03:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:28pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Circular logic. We've got to break this circle. It's been going on for far too long. Time for the NFHS to define "holding". They've defined just about everything else that occurs in the game.

Grant a timeout? Yes, if player is holding ball.
Player holding ball? Yes, if you would grant a timeout.
Perhaps you just think WAY too hard about this. The NFHS doesn't need to define every little single thing.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".
These are the key words. If you say the player is not holding the ball, than how can you call it player control, by rule?

In your second example, "rotating the hand" has no basis in the rules. If, however, while dribbling the ball the ball comes to rest in the hand, than you would consider that holding the ball, and thus any additional dribble would be an illegal dribble.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".
You're allowed to "bat the ball away from other players" (or some such wording) without it establishing PC, and that seems to be the same as "controlling the direction of a tip/tap".

There's a difference between that and "throwing" the ball.

Sometimes you just need to officiate.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 03:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".
It's always a judgment call if player control is established on a tip. If the ball comes to rest in the official's judgment, then player control and thus team control are established. What isn't part of the judgment EVER is the direction in which the ball is tipped. That is completely irrelevant rules-wise, no matter how many atoms you split. Whether the hand was rotated or not is also completely irrelevant.

All that matters is whether the ball came to rest or not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Look Back Rule.. THREE Softball 13 Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:18am
look back rule gfleischer82 Softball 17 Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:44pm
Look Back Rule BuggBob Softball 7 Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:32am
Look Back Rule WestMichBlue Softball 28 Mon Oct 06, 2003 08:43pm
FED - New look-back rule SamNVa Softball 6 Tue Mar 19, 2002 10:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1