![]() |
|
|
|||
I'm fairly certain about the big ten game, It was an IU game I was at and I complained about the call at the time but decided in my head it must have been correct because as you said a Big Ten official wouldn't miss that. I guess he felt that the player had enough control of the ball that he "threw/passed" it back out.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Assembly Hall
If the call was against IU, then correct call. If for IU, obviously incorrect call.
Great to have the brooms out on Wednesday night..... I will tell you that this is all a matter of HTBT. If the official determines that the tip was a controlled tip in the direction of the player, then it should be a b/c violation. If it is truely just a tap of the ball with zero direction control, then no b/c violation. Assembly Hall has a long history of incidents. Just ask Steve Reid about the chair..... BOILER UP! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
In your second example, "rotating the hand" has no basis in the rules. If, however, while dribbling the ball the ball comes to rest in the hand, than you would consider that holding the ball, and thus any additional dribble would be an illegal dribble.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
There's a difference between that and "throwing" the ball. Sometimes you just need to officiate. |
|
|||
Quote:
All that matters is whether the ball came to rest or not. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
But they obviously are not allowed to hold the ball; that would be a violation. |
|
|||
As APG said, that's completely wrong by rule. The criteria needed to make the correct call is whether there was player control established or not...i.e if the ball came to rest. No player control = no team control. What direction the ball is tapped in has got nothing to do with the call rules-wise.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Look Back Rule.. | THREE | Softball | 13 | Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:18am |
look back rule | gfleischer82 | Softball | 17 | Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:44pm |
Look Back Rule | BuggBob | Softball | 7 | Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:32am |
Look Back Rule | WestMichBlue | Softball | 28 | Mon Oct 06, 2003 08:43pm |
FED - New look-back rule | SamNVa | Softball | 6 | Tue Mar 19, 2002 10:20pm |