The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/63346-over-back-rule.html)

dbmcubs21 Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:50am

Over and back rule
 
This question stems from two calls I have seen made in the past few weeks: one in a Big Ten game and one in an intramural game. The call in question is the over and back call. I know all the good stuff about the three points and so on, but my question deals more with the actual possession of the ball.

In both cases the ball was tipped back on a rebound attempt by a member of the shooting team. In the Big Ten game it was a free throw attempt and the intramural game was on a field goal attempt. The rebounder slapped the ball backwards and it was recovered by the "shooting" teams only to be called over and back in both situations.

The intramural call was against my team and they turned to me to ask if it was the correct call (I'm an IM official as well) I told some of my teammates it was the correct call (based on what I had seen in the Big Ten matchup a few weeks ago). Anyone have a good answer for this? Correct call or not and why?

just another ref Fri Feb 25, 2011 01:14am

If the ball was merely tipped or slapped, this was not the correct call because there was no team control in the frontcourt.

APG Fri Feb 25, 2011 01:24am

Are you sure it happened as you said in the Big Ten game? Cause for an official at that level to miss such an easy call is hard to fathom. Perhaps, there was a moment where a player held the ball briefly?

dbmcubs21 Fri Feb 25, 2011 01:44am

I'm fairly certain about the big ten game, It was an IU game I was at and I complained about the call at the time but decided in my head it must have been correct because as you said a Big Ten official wouldn't miss that. I guess he felt that the player had enough control of the ball that he "threw/passed" it back out.

stiffler3492 Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbmcubs21 (Post 734129)
I'm fairly certain about the big ten game, It was an IU game I was at and I complained about the call at the time but decided in my head it must have been correct because as you said a Big Ten official wouldn't miss that. I guess he felt that the player had enough control of the ball that he "threw/passed" it back out.

That's the only thing that comes to mind.

stiffler3492 Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:12am

By the way dbm, check your PM inbox, upper right hand corner.

dbking Fri Feb 25, 2011 01:52pm

Assembly Hall
 
If the call was against IU, then correct call. If for IU, obviously incorrect call.

Great to have the brooms out on Wednesday night.....

I will tell you that this is all a matter of HTBT. If the official determines that the tip was a controlled tip in the direction of the player, then it should be a b/c violation. If it is truely just a tap of the ball with zero direction control, then no b/c violation.

Assembly Hall has a long history of incidents. Just ask Steve Reid about the chair.....

BOILER UP!

APG Fri Feb 25, 2011 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbking (Post 734260)
If the call was against IU, then correct call. If for IU, obviously incorrect call.

Great to have the brooms out on Wednesday night.....

I will tell you that this is all a matter of HTBT. If the official determines that the tip was a controlled tip in the direction of the player, then it should be a b/c violation. If it is truely just a tap of the ball with zero direction control, then no b/c violation.

Assembly Hall has a long history of incidents. Just ask Steve Reid about the chair.....

BOILER UP!

Controlled tip does not equate to team control which is gained by HOLDING or dribbling the ball.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbking (Post 734260)
If the official determines that the tip was a controlled tip in the direction of the player, then it should be a b/c violation. If it is truely just a tap of the ball with zero direction control, then no b/c violation.

As APG said, that's completely wrong by rule. The criteria needed to make the correct call is whether there was player control established or not...i.e if the ball came to rest. No player control = no team control. What direction the ball is tapped in has got nothing to do with the call rules-wise.

NoFussRef Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 734262)
Controlled tip does not equate to team control which is gained by HOLDING or dribbling the ball.

While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".

APG Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 734270)
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".

If you would grant a timeout during said "control", then you've determined that there was player control. If there's player control, then there's team control.

M&M Guy Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 734270)
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".

These are the key words. If you say the player is not holding the ball, than how can you call it player control, by rule?

In your second example, "rotating the hand" has no basis in the rules. If, however, while dribbling the ball the ball comes to rest in the hand, than you would consider that holding the ball, and thus any additional dribble would be an illegal dribble.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 25, 2011 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 734270)
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".

You're allowed to "bat the ball away from other players" (or some such wording) without it establishing PC, and that seems to be the same as "controlling the direction of a tip/tap".

There's a difference between that and "throwing" the ball.

Sometimes you just need to officiate.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 25, 2011 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 734270)
One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".

It's always a judgment call if player control is established on a tip. If the ball comes to rest in the official's judgment, then player control and thus team control are established. What isn't part of the judgment EVER is the direction in which the ball is tipped. That is completely irrelevant rules-wise, no matter how many atoms you split. Whether the hand was rotated or not is also completely irrelevant.

All that matters is whether the ball came to rest or not.

Eastshire Fri Feb 25, 2011 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 734270)
While I agree with your point here...

One could question whether a player could "control the direction of a tip/tap"- without holding the ball. Even if momentarily (splitting atoms here), If a player rotates their hand to direct a tap would you consider this holding the ball? If a player does this while dribbling we call it a "carry".

Absolutely, one can control the direction of a tip/tap without holding the ball. In fact, the whole sport of volleyball is built around controlling a ball by tipping, tapping and striking a ball without ever holding it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1