The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 27, 2011, 10:18am
Official Forum Member

Dealing with lower level coaches?

I've been officiating for 8 yrs now, still a rookie in my Assoc.
Why is it the lower level Coaches Freshman & JV scream and yell at the officials for calls or no calls. I sometimes stick around for the varsity game and the Coaches for the most part just calmly ask questions about calls. I feel the lower level coaches just want to win the game as most do, but keep there job to make that extra money coaching? Do you lower level officials see this as well? Hope everyone's season is going well. GFS-1
Old Thu Jan 27, 2011, 10:26am
Official Forum Member

In my opinion it is a combination of (1) coaches who are inexperienced and/or don't know the rules all that well and (2) the coaches figure most JV officials are rookies and so they question the calls they make or don't make.

I call some JV games (actually enjoy them) and the funny thing is I have been calling ball longer than a lot of the coaches have been around. I also have no problem informing them that I am not going to have them question every call or they will be watching the game while seated on the bench
Old Thu Jan 27, 2011, 10:28am
Official Forum Member

Lower level coaches tend be younger and less mature and do not know how to talk to officials in the appropriate way. Ironically, they also may think less of the officials who work their games because those officials tend to be less experienced.