The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal dribble or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61040-legal-dribble-not.html)

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 720992)
There are 43 responses to the OP. You have 14 of them -- more than anyone else. Most are variations on the card game crap and add nothing to what is (at least to me) an interesting intellectual exercise.

Cut it out.

Please.

Bob, there are 43 threads in which Billy has posted "excessive" jokes. In 14 of them, you've objected -- more than anyone else.

Cut it out.

Please.

Adam Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 721068)
Bob, there are 43 threads in which Billy has posted "excessive" jokes. In 14 of them, you've objected -- more than anyone else.

Cut it out.

Please.

For the record, Bob said what I was thinking.

Eastshire Mon Jan 24, 2011 01:01pm

I personally like the elegance of saying that since he hit his foot he didn't push the ball to the floor but to his foot and therefore didn't start a dribble.

BillyMac Mon Jan 24, 2011 02:22pm

Captain Kangaroo's Magic Words, Please, And Thank You ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 720992)
Most are variations on the card game crap and add nothing to what is (at least to me) an interesting intellectual exercise. Cut it out. Please. On the OP, I'm ruling it legal.

I also, from the get go, found it to be an interesting intellectual challange. In most of my posts I not only voiced my opinion, and my reasons for said opinion, but also chose to use "pretend" parlimentary procedure, a chess game, and later a poker game, analogy to challenge others to keep the debate going. Seldom did I just post an analogy.

Appreciate the "Please".

Regarding the OP being legal, how about my followup situation?

A1 receives a pass and releases the ball to start a dribble. The ball hits the top of his foot, never touching the floor, and bounces straight up. A1 then catches the ball with both hands, and starts a new dribble? What do you got?

bob jenkins Mon Jan 24, 2011 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 721110)
A1 receives a pass and releases the ball to start a dribble. The ball hits the top of his foot, never touching the floor, and bounces straight up. A1 then catches the ball with both hands, and starts a new dribble? What do you got?

If I really saw that, legal (assuming there was no other violation).

In practice, I think I'd think the ball had hit the floor.

BillyMac Mon Jan 24, 2011 02:52pm

Fumble, Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 721120)
If I really saw that, legal (assuming there was no other violation).

Would you consider tihs a fumble followed by a dribble?

BillyMac Mon Jan 24, 2011 02:53pm

Fumble, Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 721120)
If I really saw that, legal (assuming there was no other violation).

Would you consider this a fumble followed by a dribble?

SNIPERBBB Mon Jan 24, 2011 04:46pm

After going through the dribble and travel rules, assuming that "to the floor" means the ball has to hit the floor to be a "dribble", the play is legal if the player doesnt travel before hand. If this would happen during a dribble, it would be a an illegal dribble in billy's play.


Though I think this play would only occur in bizzarro world because I still cannot imagine any situation to where a dribbler can do this without another player touching the ball.

letemplay Mon Jan 24, 2011 05:00pm

I'll take a try...
 
Kicked ball? My reason being, anyone able to get the ball to come immediately back to him may be doing some "purposeful maneuvering" meaning intent. I don't know that I would call that, nobody else has suggested it.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 24, 2011 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 721167)
After going through the dribble and travel rules, assuming that "to the floor" means the ball has to hit the floor to be a "dribble", <font colr = red>the play is legal if the player doesnt travel before hand</font>.

Methinks you're assuming a little too much. By rule (4-15-3), the dribble started when the ball was pushed, thrown or batted to the floor. Iow, when the ball left the dribbler's hand(s).

Are you saying a player that:
1) it's legal to touch the ball twice before the ball hits the floor for the first time
on a dribble?
2) A player can travel during a dribble?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 24, 2011 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 720992)
I'm ruling it legal.

Interesting.

Explanation as to why it's legal? Scrappy said that the ball was released to start a dribble and the ball was then touched twice by the dribbler before the ball hit the floor. That double-touch was during the same dribble, wasn't it? The definition of a "dribble" says that you push the ball to the floor, not to a foot. What am I missing?

jdw3018 Mon Jan 24, 2011 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 721188)
Interesting.

Explanation as to why it's legal? Scrappy said that the ball was released to start a dribble and the ball was then touched twice by the dribbler before the ball hit the floor. That double-touch was during the same dribble, wasn't it? The definition of a "dribble" says that you push the ball to the floor, not to a foot. What am I missing?

If we follow that this is the same as the case play, then it would have to be an illegal dribble any time a player begins a dribble and the ball hits off his foot-even if the ball goes to a defender.

Agree?

Adam Mon Jan 24, 2011 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 721189)
If we follow that this is the same as the case play, then it would have to be an illegal dribble any time a player begins a dribble and the ball hits off his foot-even if the ball goes to a defender.

Agree?

Why?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 24, 2011 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 721189)
If we follow that this is the same as the case play, then it would have to be an illegal dribble any time a player begins a dribble and the ball hits off his foot-even if the ball goes to a defender.

Agree?

Um, no. Afaik, by rule touching any other body part except the hand(s) during any single dribble is completely irrelevant. It's a violation to touch the ball twice with either hand during any single dribble. But simultaneously touching the ball with both hands isn't a violation. Doing so merely ends the dribble.

The usual understanding of a single dribble, again afaik, is hand--->floor---->hand. And if you touch the ball twice with a hand at any time between the total hand---->floor sequence, it's a violation.

jdw3018 Mon Jan 24, 2011 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 721191)
Why?

Well, I'm asking. If the violation is for touching a dribble twice before it hits the floor (which is what it appears to me JR is saying), then any time a player begins a dribble and dribbles it off a foot (or knee, gut, head, whatever), that would be touching a dribble twice.

If I'm misreading what Jurassic is arguing, then I need straightened out. Perhaps he's saying that the player catching the ball off his foot is the second touching?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1