The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal dribble or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61040-legal-dribble-not.html)

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:06pm

Deem ??? Where Did That Come From ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 720666)
If not, the ball hasn't hit the floor, so the dribble hasn't started yet. Either way, no violation.

I deem that in this play the ball was accidentally and unintentionally fumbled, that the "first dribble" never occurred because the ball never hit the floor, and that it's legal if the player decided to start a new dribble.

Check?

SNIPERBBB Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 720661)
I retract my last move. Maybe it is a fumble. Did the player intentionally plan to "dribble" the ball off his foot. I can't read minds anymore, but I doubt it very much. So maybe it was accidentally and unintentionally fumbled? You can fumble and dribble, right?

Your move.

I don't really see how a player can release a dribble and have it hit his/her foot and come straight back up without wearing some weird shoes. If the ball is fumbled and comes back up off the foot, I do not see a problem. But if it is controlled, it would have to be a violation when the hand(s) touch the ball again before it hits the floor.

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:15pm

Can't Be Overiden, You Can Look It Up ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 720673)
But if it is controlled, it would have to be a violation when the hand(s) touch the ball again before it hits the floor.

Do you actually think that the player intentionally planned to "dribble" the ball off his foot? In this case, I don't think that you have to be a mind reader.

And anyway? I've already "deemed" this to be a fumble. Legally, there is no way in the world to override a deeming.

just another ref Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 720669)
I deem that in this play the ball was accidentally and unintentionally fumbled, that the "first dribble" never occurred because the ball never hit the floor, and that it's legal if the player decided to start a new dribble.

Check?

It was not a fumble. The ball was released to start a dribble. This was a given in the OP.

Checkmate

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:17pm

Please Delete Your Checkmate ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 720676)
It was not a fumble. The ball was released to start a dribble. This was a given in the OP. Checkmate

Good point, but I've already deemed this. Too late.

just another ref Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 720678)
Good point, but I've already deemed this. Too late.

Go look for pictures of chess pieces, then report back to us.


Next year.:D

SNIPERBBB Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 720675)
Do you actually think that the player intentionally planned to "dribble" the ball off his foot? In this case, I don't think that you have to be a mind reader.

And anyway? I've already "deemed" this to be a fumble. Legally, there is no way in the world to override a deeming.

You do not have to "mind read" if the player pushes the ball to the floor. Batting is where you have to use your mind-reading powers.

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:52pm

There Outta Be A Law ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 720680)
Go look for pictures of chess pieces, then report back to us. Next year.

Wait a minute here? You are out of order trying to override my deeming, and I get double secret probation? Just doesn't seem fair? Who's the Forum parliamentarian?

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/44sZ2ZZ30_Q" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 01:56pm

By Definition, I Believe So ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 720682)
You do not have to "mind read" if the player pushes the ball to the floor. Batting is where you have to use your mind-reading powers.

A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Does the ball actually have to hit the floor for it to be a dribble?

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 23, 2011 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 720638)
A1 receives a pass and releases the ball to start a dribble. The ball hits the top of his foot, never touching the floor, and bounces straight up. A1 then bats the ball to the floor.

Violation for touching the ball twice during the same dribble, as per the RULING of 4.15.4SitD(a)-"Violation because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble before it touched the floor."

SNIPERBBB Sun Jan 23, 2011 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 720689)
A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Does the ball actually have to hit the floor for it to be a dribble?

Nope.

just another ref Sun Jan 23, 2011 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 720694)
Violation for touching the ball twice during the same dribble, as per the RULING of 4.15.4SitD(a)-"Violation because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble before it touched the floor."

So if a player is holding the ball, tosses it from one hand to the other, then pushes it to the floor, is that a violation?

Adam Sun Jan 23, 2011 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 720708)
So if a player is holding the ball, tosses it from one hand to the other, then pushes it to the floor, is that a violation?

No, because the dribble doesn't start until he pushes it to the floor. This call hinges completely on whether A1 has to bat the ball "into the air" in order to be liable for this violation.

just another ref Sun Jan 23, 2011 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 720722)
No, because the dribble doesn't start until he pushes it to the floor.

That was my point above.

And even if it is during the dribble, I see the ball hitting a foot the same as hitting the floor. What if it's an opponent's foot? It hits and comes straight back up to the dribbler's hand, (very unlikely I know, but no more unlikely than off his own foot) is this a violation?

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 04:12pm

I'm Out ...
 
Anything that I deemed, I now undeem.

I don't have another move because I'm stuck on the floor. Literally. The "pushes the ball to the floor" part of the definition is confusing me.

http://ts2.mm.bing.net/images/thumbn...8f40&index=ch1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1