The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal dribble or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61040-legal-dribble-not.html)

Adam Sun Jan 23, 2011 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 720735)
That was my point above.

And even if it is during the dribble, I see the ball hitting a foot the same as hitting the floor. What if it's an opponent's foot? It hits and comes straight back up to the dribbler's hand, (very unlikely I know, but no more unlikely than off his own foot) is this a violation?

Opponents foot, I'd consider that an interrupted dribble that touches an opponent. New dribble.

just another ref Sun Jan 23, 2011 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 720741)
Opponents foot, I'd consider that an interrupted dribble that touches an opponent. New dribble.

It's not an interrupted dribble because it didn't get away from the dribbler. It came straight back up. That is very unlikely, maybe even impossible, but it's still a given. The dribble didn't end, because the touch by the opponent caused no loss of control.

Adam Sun Jan 23, 2011 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 720747)
It's not an interrupted dribble because it didn't get away from the dribbler. It came straight back up. That is very unlikely, maybe even impossible, but it's still a given. The dribble didn't end, because the touch by the opponent caused no loss of control.

I'm considering this an interrupted dribble. The fact that a dribbler cannot possibly intend to dribble off his opponent's foot tells me that if it does, it got away from him. The fact that it, by a fluke of physics, bounced straight back to him does not change this, IMO.

Raymond Sun Jan 23, 2011 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 720694)
Violation for touching the ball twice during the same dribble, as per the RULING of 4.15.4SitD(a)-"Violation because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble before it touched the floor."

I would agree if A1 had already batted the ball to floor at least once. But in the OP I see it no different than standing in place and tossing the ball to himself before dribbling.

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 05:46pm

I'm Back In The Game Baby ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 720756)
I would agree if A1 had already batted the ball to floor at least once. But in the OP I see it no different than standing in place and tossing the ball to himself before dribbling.

Which means that he can legally start a new dribble. Can I deem this now?

http://ts4.mm.bing.net/images/thumbn...907a&index=ch1

Adam Sun Jan 23, 2011 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 720764)
Which means that he can legally start a new dribble. Can I deem this now?

Not if he picks his pivot foot up in the process.

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 05:58pm

I'm Out, Again ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 720766)
Not if he picks his pivot foot up in the process.

http://ts4.mm.bing.net/images/thumbn...e53b&index=ch1

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 23, 2011 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 720756)
I would agree if A1 had already batted the ball to floor at least once. But in the OP I see it no different than standing in place and tossing the ball to himself before dribbling.

Scrapper1 told us in the OP that A1 released the ball to start a dribble. Are you calling Scrappy a liar? Is there any reason you wouldn't believe Scrappy?

Or are you a resident of JARlandia also?

Raymond Sun Jan 23, 2011 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 720832)
Scrapper1 told us in the OP that A1 released the ball to start a dribble. Are you calling Scrappy a liar? Is there any reason you wouldn't believe Scrappy?

Or are you a resident of JARlandia also?

Nope, but since the dribble never occurred I'm not ruling it a violation. The dribble was deferred. :)

BillyMac Sun Jan 23, 2011 09:04pm

Deal Me In ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 720846)
Nope, but since the dribble never occurred I'm not ruling it a violation. The dribble was deferred.

Excellent. I'm back in the game.

jdw3018 Sun Jan 23, 2011 09:09pm

Nobody has posted the correct response yet:

"You're saying that hit his foot? Huh."

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 23, 2011 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 720846)
The dribble was deferred.

An instant classic.... :D

Back In The Saddle Mon Jan 24, 2011 01:13am

Though this is the place to overthink this kind of stuff, in a game situation...I got nuthun. It's such a one in a million kind of play that nobody would ever bother to write a rule about it. And absent a rule, or a really obvious application of an existing rule, it's legal.

BillyMac Mon Jan 24, 2011 07:32am

It's Like An Alternative Universe ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 720945)
In a game situation, I got nuthun. It's such a one in a million kind of play that nobody would ever bother to write a rule about it. And absent a rule, or a really obvious application of an existing rule, it's legal.

But this isn't real life, this is the Forum. Now, are you in this hand, or not? If so, ante up.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 24, 2011 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 720976)
But this isn't real life, this is the Forum. Now, are you in this hand, or not? If so, ante up.

Billy --

There are 43 responses to the OP. You have 14 of them -- more than anyone else. Most are variations on the card game crap and add nothing to what is (at least to me) an interesting intellectual exercise.

Cut it out.

Please.

Oh -- on the OP: I'm ruling it legal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1