![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I appreciate the replies...
Quote:
Like Snaqwells and BktBallRef mentioned, was this a try? That never entered my mind at the time and looking back I am still certain it was a failed pass. I'm not sure I could have enunciated this to anyone had they questioned the call without really thinking it through. Once I was able to get back into my rule book, I saw that 9-9-2 might also apply since the ball did not touch or hit anyone before ending up in the hands of the player who threw it. |
|
|||
|
A la case book play 9.5(a)....
|
|
|||
|
If it's a try when A1 throws the ball against the backboard, runs, catches and dunks it, (and it is) then it's a try in this case, too. Always.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Situational?
I might be inclined to call it a shot if it's near the end of a quarter or half. But, if A1 randomly throws a long ball from behind the division line with 2:34 to go in the 2nd quarter down by 7, I am not inclined to call it a shot.
JMO
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
|
Case book play 9.5(a)?
|
|
|||
|
Own Backboard ...
9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 09, 2011 at 07:38pm. |
|
|||
|
Hey JR...just to play Devil's advocate here... that case play is in regards to the Dribble Rule, which I know you are well aware. So are we using this case play to "sell" or "justify" the call? Let us pretend that after the call... ... the player, that threw the ball from Backcourt, said to his teammate..."Hey Joe, I was PASSING that ball to you...why didn't you jump up and catch it?" (Team Control?) ...would you think that you missed the call with that statement? Not being a smart-a$$ here...just discussing things.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Agreed.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt violation? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 63 | Tue Oct 10, 2006 01:36pm |
| backcourt violation | bbcowboy | Basketball | 8 | Tue May 09, 2006 07:25am |
| Backcourt violation? | VaLadyRef | Basketball | 11 | Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:36pm |
| backcourt violation? | sc/nc ref | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 05, 2005 08:35pm |
| BACKCOURT VIOLATION? | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 10 | Thu Dec 23, 2004 03:16pm |