![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
A bunch of you who responded said go with a charge even though he states that the Team B player maintained her position...not displaced. So since we (the official) made a bad call by blowing the whistle too soon we are going to make up a foul on the offense? Eat crow and rule an IW and give the ball back to the offense...don't penalize someone to try to cover our mistake.
__________________
Every game is a big game
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I hate those situations. It is an example of us blowing before the play finishes.
If you can get away with it, call a travel. If we have to stick it to the team becuase we are wrong, at least we aren't calling a foul on them....... Will you be working the Fort Hill / Alleghany game this year ????? |
|
||||
|
Quote:
I worked a BV game last night where a player went down. He was displaced and probably went down a bit too easy, but I didn't care. Both teams decided last night to drive at every opportunity and try to go through players -- I had 6 player control fouls myself and 3 blocking fouls that would've been had the defense been a bit better. It's likely that A1 traveled after the contact if she bounced off the defender. That's the one to get if it's there. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Same thing here last night. A1 trying to drive between B1 and B2. There really wasn't enough room - but no displacement. A's coach harping about the lack of a blocking foul. I told him his player has to have enough room to go between them and had there been a call it would have been PC. Later in game - B2 standing in post facing A1. A1 goes up with some body lean. B2 arms straight up and is planted (he never really ever did move very well) A1's body lean causes contact on the shot. No call - again - not enough contact or displacement to call a PC and there is no way that is ever going to be a foul by B2 against the shooter.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
|
|
|||
|
+1
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
|
|
|||
|
Don't beat yourself up to bad. Wife's team had a play over Christmas where a girl about 50 lbs ran into our 180lb center. Little girl bounced off our center and our center was called for the block. When asked for an explaination my wife was informed "Coach, your player didn't fall. If she had fallen I would have called the charge". Its times like that where it is SOOOO difficult to keep quiet as the lowly assistant.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Right Call or Wrong Call | Johnny Ringo | Football | 24 | Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:19pm |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Good Call / Bad Call | whiskers_ump | Softball | 29 | Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am |