The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Bad call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60350-bad-call.html)

Terrapins Fan Tue Jan 04, 2011 04:11pm

Bad call?
 
I think so, but it happened so quick.

I had player A1 with the ball charge B1. A1 bounces off and B1 maintains her position, but when it happened, I blew on it thinking B1 was going to the floor. But B1 just took the hit and didn't move....

I thought, come on help me out here, fall.

I would loved to have held the whistle, but I didn't...what can you do? I called the charge.....

I hope it was the worst call I had but I am not sure...Hoping for a better game tonight.

tref Tue Jan 04, 2011 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 711946)
I think so, but it happened so quick.

I had player A1 with the ball charge B1. A1 bounces off and B1 maintains her position, but when it happened, I blew on it thinking B1 was going to the floor. But B1 just took the hit and didn't move....

I thought, come on help me out here, fall.

I would loved to have held the whistle, but I didn't...what can you do? I called the charge.....

I dont believe a defender HAS to fall for a p/c to be called.

Let the play completely finish as in SDF before popping.

rockyroad Tue Jan 04, 2011 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 711946)
I think so, but it happened so quick.

I had player A1 with the ball charge B1. A1 bounces off and B1 maintains her position, but when it happened, I blew on it thinking B1 was going to the floor. But B1 just took the hit and didn't move....

I thought, come on help me out here, fall.

I would loved to have held the whistle, but I didn't...what can you do? I called the charge.....

I hope it was the worst call I had but I am not sure...Hoping for a better game tonight.

How about a travel call against A1? (assuming she wasn't still dribbling)

rlarry Tue Jan 04, 2011 04:46pm

Sounds like you made the right call. Defender doesn't have to get run over to be in good position

Welpe Tue Jan 04, 2011 04:50pm

I would look at it from this perspective. What advantage did A1 gain by virtue of his/her illegal contact? If none, I would either go with a no-call or perhaps a travel if applicable.

Just from your description of the play, I would say A1 did not gain any advantage. But, that's JMO.

Adam Tue Jan 04, 2011 04:59pm

Sounds like perhaps a no-call was warranted, but we've all had this call that we want back.

BillyMac Tue Jan 04, 2011 05:21pm

Ashes, Ashes, We All Fall Down ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711955)
Sounds like perhaps a no-call was warranted, but we've all had this call that we want back.

Been there. Done that. I hate it when that happens.

Pantherdreams Tue Jan 04, 2011 05:28pm

If the defense is displaced/impeded at all then you can still make the charge call. If they really don't move or lose their ability to move and whistle goes then you better hope for understanding coaches or find another call.

APG Tue Jan 04, 2011 06:11pm

Go with the charge or inadvertent whistle. If there was a travel after the contact, then go with that.

Terrapins Fan Tue Jan 04, 2011 09:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 711961)
If the defense is displaced/impeded at all then you can still make the charge call. If they really don't move or lose their ability to move and whistle goes then you better hope for understanding coaches or find another call.

Given the choice, I would have rather held the whistle, but I reacted too quickly.

The game was very sloppy by both teams. that made it hard to officiate.

We called about 40 fouls total including a "T" ( not by me ).

it wasn't a close game about 25 points most of the night, but the turn overs, about 25 to 30 it was sloppy and we as a crew fell into it.

Tonight I had a much better game. Boys Varsity, no regrets.

26 Year Gap Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 711985)
Given the choice, I would have rather held the whistle, but I reacted too quickly.

The game was very sloppy by both teams. that made it hard to officiate.

We called about 40 fouls total including a "T" ( not by me ).

it wasn't a close game about 25 points most of the night, but the turn overs, about 25 to 30 it was sloppy and we as a crew fell into it.

Tonight I had a much better game. Boys Varsity, no regrets.

Had one of those games tonight myself. After working a GV holiday tournament with some of the best teams in the state last week, the adjustment to the last 2 nights has been a bit tough. Going from 3 to 2 on the crew didn't help. Tonight 3 would have been helpful. Once one of the players in the middle of a lot of the rough play picked up #5 midway through the 3rd qtr, things improved.

GoodwillRef Wed Jan 05, 2011 08:03am

A bunch of you who responded said go with a charge even though he states that the Team B player maintained her position...not displaced. So since we (the official) made a bad call by blowing the whistle too soon we are going to make up a foul on the offense? Eat crow and rule an IW and give the ball back to the offense...don't penalize someone to try to cover our mistake.

Adam Wed Jan 05, 2011 08:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 712054)
A bunch of you who responded said go with a charge even though he states that the Team B player maintained her position...not displaced. So since we (the official) made a bad call by blowing the whistle too soon we are going to make up a foul on the offense? Eat crow and rule an IW and give the ball back to the offense...don't penalize someone to try to cover our mistake.

Typically, this is something we call and think about for a bit; realizing we should have held our whistle. My brain doesn't work fast enough to go through both regret and resolution before I've reported it and put the ball in play.

Terrapins Fan Wed Jan 05, 2011 08:26am

A1 clearly charged into B1 and the contact was significant, but B1 was a stronger player.

You've seen it, B1 is 5'7" tall and 180lbs and A1 is 4'10" and 89 lbs.

But I blew too early.

Indianaref Wed Jan 05, 2011 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 711946)
I think so, but it happened so quick.

I had player A1 with the ball charge B1. A1 bounces off and B1 maintains her position, but when it happened, I blew on it thinking B1 was going to the floor. But B1 just took the hit and didn't move....

I thought, come on help me out here, fall.

I would loved to have held the whistle, but I didn't...what can you do? I called the charge.....

I hope it was the worst call I had but I am not sure...Hoping for a better game tonight.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 711951)
How about a travel call against A1? (assuming she wasn't still dribbling)

Had exact play last year in a G/V game. Put air in the whistle too early, didn't know how the girl didn't go down or at least don't know why she had not been taught to take a charge....would have made my call much easier. Fortunately, it was early in the game and long forgotten as they were the run away winner. As Rocky said, it should have been a travel.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1