![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Fair question. I mean he just allows the ball to bounce by itself while he steps OOB.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
4-15-5 An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. The play you posted is legal.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
A Twist In The Plot ...
In the original post, yes.
But it is possible for a dribbler, not an interrupted dribbler, to step out of bounds, while not in contact with the ball, which is bouncing in bounds, and be in violation of the out of bounds a rule. NFHS 9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
While true, that doesn't have anything to do with the poster's question, because all parties have agreed that the player had STOPPED dribbling when he stepped out of bounds.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
There's simply no provision in the rules to intentionally cause an interrupted dribble. |
|
|||
See NFHS rule 4-15-2. A dribbler can batt the ball over the head of the defender and then legally run around the defender and dribble again, as long as he has lets the ball bounce once or several times after the batt. The period between the batt and the continuance of the dribble is an interrupted dribble. It momentarily got away from the dribbler, by rules definition, and there is no player control during that time.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The FED defined an interrupted dribble a long, long time ago. They said your dribble was interrupted if you could not immediately dribble again. And that's also why there's no player control during an interrupted dribble. If you can't immediately dribble the ball, quite obviously you also can't have player control of the ball at the same time. The rule says that the ball momentarily gets away from the dribbler during an interrupted dribble. Intent on the part of dribbler has never been a part of that definition. Thank God too for that. Mind reading ain't one of my strengths. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
By rule definition, it sure has. The rule simply says "momentarily gets away from the dribbler". Intent has never been mentioned as being any part of that definition.
You're thinking waaaaaaaay too much on this one, Eastshire, imho. You're trying to read something into the rule....intent.... that just isn't there. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Dribbler goes out of bounds | oldschool | Basketball | 12 | Tue Oct 12, 2010 06:28pm |
Dribbler Out of Bounds? | Spence | Basketball | 9 | Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:25am |
Player to touch ball after going out of bounds | kirtley29 | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jan 12, 2006 08:25am |
First to touch ball after stepping out of bounds | ridavis13 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:45pm |
Dribbler out-of-bounds. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 9 | Mon Mar 19, 2001 02:26pm |