The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 520
Dribbler Out of Bounds?

9-3-1 note says that the dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps OOB even though he/she is not touching the ball at the time.

Does the violation occur as soon as he/she steps OOB or is it only if they touch the ball again after stepping oob? What if the dribbler realizes they are getting ready to go oob , slaps the ball to keep it inbounds, then steps OOB and the ball is retrieved by a teammate? Violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 09:12am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
9-3-1 note says that the dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps OOB even though he/she is not touching the ball at the time.

Does the violation occur as soon as he/she steps OOB or is it only if they touch the ball again after stepping oob? What if the dribbler realizes they are getting ready to go oob , slaps the ball to keep it inbounds, then steps OOB and the ball is retrieved by a teammate? Violation?
As I understand it, you are paid to judge if it is a pass or dribble.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 375
It is a violation when s/he continues the dribble. If they are dribbling and step out of bounds, not in contact with the ball and do not don't touch the ball again their dribble ended prior to them steping out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 09:39am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post

Does the violation occur as soon as he/she steps OOB or is it only if they touch the ball again after stepping oob?
The violation occurs when a dribbler steps out of bounds. It is not necessary that the ball be touched again. Read 4-15-4 for the definition of when the dribble ends. If none of these has occurred, the dribble is still alive.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Here we go! We've discussed this one many times.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 11:30am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
As I understand it, you are paid to judge if it is a pass or dribble.
Works for me. If it's not an adjudged pass, it's an immediate violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Works for me. If it's not an adjudged pass, it's an immediate violation.
It does not have to be a pass. There also is no violation for stepping out of bounds during an interrupted dribble. See 4-15-6d.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 08:38pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
It does not have to be a pass. There also is no violation for stepping out of bounds during an interrupted dribble. See 4-15-6d.
I thought we were talking about during a dribble. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2008, 11:06pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
I thought we were talking about during a dribble. Sorry.
The OP certainly mentioned "dribber":

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence
9-3-1 note says that the dribbler has committed a violation...
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2008, 12:25am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
It does not have to be a pass. There also is no violation for stepping out of bounds during an interrupted dribble. See 4-15-6d.

And if the dribbler realizes that he has stepped on the line and runs away from the ball without touching it again, this would not prevent the violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dribbler Goes Down .... Ref Daddy Basketball 9 Wed Jan 11, 2006 06:57am
3 points for dribbler SamIAm Basketball 2 Tue Feb 08, 2005 04:15pm
dribbler OOB wizard Basketball 28 Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:02pm
Dribbler out-of-bounds. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 9 Mon Mar 19, 2001 02:26pm
Dribbler beancenzo Basketball 9 Fri May 05, 2000 01:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1