Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
How??  The game is stopped for the next 30 or 60 seconds. Nothing is going to happen anyway. So how he delaying anything?
|
So why not let him shoot around for the next 30 or 60 seconds?
This action is illegal. BillyMac quoted the proper rule about failing to pass the ball to the nearer official when it becomes dead. The proper penalty is a player technical foul for delaying the game. If you want to know exactly how, I would admit that is a tough explanation, but consider a two person crew. One official should be reporting the time-out and the other should be collecting the ball and heading to the ensuing throw-in spot. The coach of one of the teams may want to know this location before going into his huddle and drawing up a play. What if the player shooting the lay-up is from the other team and now this coach can't get his desired info in a timely manner because the official has to go collect the ball?
There was a POE or comment on this a few years ago when the editorial change was made in the language of this rule. I recall the NFHS making the point to not allow such behavior after the whistle.
My vote is
WHACK.