The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 08:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Question to ponder

Does the three points principal apply to an interrupted dribble?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 08:45pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
My first thought would be to say no.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Does the three points principal apply to an interrupted dribble?
Which principal is that? Maybe this one?

[IMG]http://www.i-mockery.com/minimocks/movie-*******s2/ed-rooney.jpg[/IMG]

How cool is that: the forum censor blocks bad words in links! Here's the image:

__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Does the three points principal apply to an interrupted dribble?
Is there PC during an interrupted dribble? If not, then there really isn't a "dribble." So, the three-points rule can't apply.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 09:05am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
I'll bite. Three points principle? (Perhaps I call it something else.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I'll bite. Three points principle? (Perhaps I call it something else.)
"During a driblle from BC to FC, the ball is not in the FC until the ball and both feet of the dribbler are in the FC" (or something like that).

Rule 4-Ball Location
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 09:22am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Thanks, Bob.

Here's a case where I would say YES....

A1 dribbles, backing into the FC from BC. His feet are now FC, but the ball is BC. The ball takes a strange bounce and gets away from A1, but the ball remains in the BC. A1 goes back to continue the dribble.

I would say that's legal, because the ball never gained FC status.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Thanks, Bob.

Here's a case where I would say YES....

A1 dribbles, backing into the FC from BC. His feet are now FC, but the ball is BC. The ball takes a strange bounce and gets away from A1, but the ball remains in the BC. A1 goes back to continue the dribble.

I would say that's legal, because the ball never gained FC status.
Yes legal. The ball never made FC status because of the 3 pt principle. A1 established BC when he retrieves the ball in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 09:41am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Thanks, Bob.

Here's a case where I would say YES....

A1 dribbles, backing into the FC from BC. His feet are now FC, but the ball is BC. The ball takes a strange bounce and gets away from A1, but the ball remains in the BC. A1 goes back to continue the dribble.

I would say that's legal, because the ball never gained FC status.
Ok, how about this.
A1 dribbling in the BC. The ball gets away from him (hits his toe) and bounces towards the sideline, in the FC. He goes towards the sideline to retrieve it, but never leaves the BC. He then reaches across the division line and continues his dribble.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Thanks, Bob.

Here's a case where I would say YES....

A1 dribbles, backing into the FC from BC. His feet are now FC, but the ball is BC. The ball takes a strange bounce and gets away from A1, but the ball remains in the BC. A1 goes back to continue the dribble.

I would say that's legal, because the ball never gained FC status.
Legal, but don't forget to continue the 10 second backcourt count.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Ponder this..... JMN Football 7 Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:20pm
Another Play to Ponder mikesears Football 7 Thu Jun 26, 2003 01:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1