The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Thanks, Bob.

Here's a case where I would say YES....

A1 dribbles, backing into the FC from BC. His feet are now FC, but the ball is BC. The ball takes a strange bounce and gets away from A1, but the ball remains in the BC. A1 goes back to continue the dribble.

I would say that's legal, because the ball never gained FC status.
Legal, but don't forget to continue the 10 second backcourt count.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 05:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,527
Old Dog, Old Tricks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The 10 second backcourt count.
That reminds me. I had a play last week. A1 is dribbling the ball in his frontcourt. B1, playing at the elbow in a simple zone defense, takes a swipe at the ball which slowly bounces deep into the backcourt. A1, with no defender anywhere near him, takes his sweet time going back to get the ball, finally picks up the ball deep in the backcourt, and starts a dribble to bring the ball back upcourt.

When did I start my ten second count? When A1 picked up the ball in the backcourt to start a new dribble. Immediately after I started the count I said to myself, "Self. Because of posts on the Forum you should know better than that". I was probably the only one in the gym who knew that I screwed up.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2010, 09:52pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
A dribble and an interrupted dribble have separate definitions. An interrupted dribble is not a dribble. Therefore, during an interrupted dribble, the three point rule does not apply.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Ponder this..... JMN Football 7 Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:20pm
Another Play to Ponder mikesears Football 7 Thu Jun 26, 2003 01:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1