![]() |
|
|
|||
I disagree
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Okay. Thanks Snaqs. Was making sure I was thinking correctly.
|
|
||||
No problem. Also note, if the player had used his dribble, he cannot dribble again unless
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. Last edited by Adam; Wed Dec 01, 2010 at 08:05pm. |
|
|||
Fixed it for you.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
not sure i agree with the last one
For it to be travel, he would have to drop the ball to the floor and then be the first to touch it, wouldn't he?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
IMO the last has to do with intentionally. A legal fumble has to be unintentionally dropping the ball or it slipping for grasp. So therefore A1 never lost control legally of the ball resulting in a travel if he came back down to the floor.
|
|
|||
yes but
There is a case play that is partially on point. I don't have my book to give you the number, but it goes something like this. A1 goes up to shoot and seeing that his shot will be blocked drops the ball. The ball hits the floor. The ruling is a travel if he is the first to touch the ball. I see the OP as being similar. The OP doesn't say the ball touched the floor and that he was the first to touch it. If so, then I would agree with the travel call. But if he lost possession intentionally and regained possession in the air and the ball didn't touch the floor, I've got nothing.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
No I meant intentionally
There is no rule support that I know of that says a player can't INTENTIONALLY lose control of the ball while in the air. The case play that I sited above says its only a violation if the ball touches the floor and the player is the first too touch it. Again the case play isn't a 100% similar to the OP but it is close enough in my mind to give us some guidance. If the player intentionally loses control but regains it before he and the ball touches the floor I still have nothing.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
Quote:
In the OP (assuming purposeful release) it's a travel for jumping and returning to the floor with the ball. It could have been considered an illegal dribble under the old case play, but the case play for the player throwing the ball in the air and moving before catching it (no bounce) declares it a travel now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Again I don't agree
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
My play: the player never dropped the ball to the floor. He simply came back down with the ball after the fumble while he was mid air. |
|
|||
Correct.
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Co-possession travel | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:16am |
Loss of equipment before possession | stevesmith | Lacrosse | 6 | Mon Apr 12, 2004 01:35pm |
Loss of one of our own | CK | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 25, 2002 03:05pm |
Loss of Down on Try | Ray Lutz | Football | 6 | Fri Oct 18, 2002 01:20pm |
SECOND loss for the U.S | hawkk | Basketball | 2 | Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:28am |