The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 05:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
There is a case play that is partially on point. I don't have my book to give you the number, but it goes something like this. A1 goes up to shoot and seeing that his shot will be blocked drops the ball. The ball hits the floor. The ruling is a travel if he is the first to touch the ball. I see the OP as being similar. The OP doesn't say the ball touched the floor and that he was the first to touch it. If so, then I would agree with the travel call. But if he lost possession intentionally and regained possession in the air and the ball didn't touch the floor, I've got nothing.
They're travels for different reasons. In the case play, it's a travel for lifting the pivot foot before starting a dribble.

In the OP (assuming purposeful release) it's a travel for jumping and returning to the floor with the ball.

It could have been considered an illegal dribble under the old case play, but the case play for the player throwing the ball in the air and moving before catching it (no bounce) declares it a travel now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Again I don't agree

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
They're travels for different reasons. In the case play, it's a travel for lifting the pivot foot before starting a dribble.

In the OP (assuming purposeful release) it's a travel for jumping and returning to the floor with the ball.

It could have been considered an illegal dribble under the old case play, but the case play for the player throwing the ball in the air and moving before catching it (no bounce) declares it a travel now.
SUppose this happend on a jump stop. The dribble ended when the player gathered the ball. He then jumps off one foot. He loses control momentarily and regains it before he comes down on both feet. This is not a travel.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 05:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
SUppose this happend on a jump stop. The dribble ended when the player gathered the ball. He then jumps off one foot. He loses control momentarily and regains it before he comes down on both feet. This is not a travel.
Look at it this way, if the play would have been legal without the momentary release of the ball, it's legal.

If it would have been illegal without the momentary release of the ball, it's still illegal.

This all assumes intentional release, a fumble is a different animal of course.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
SUppose this happend on a jump stop. The dribble ended when the player gathered the ball. He then jumps off one foot (pivot). He loses control momentarily and regains it before he comes down on both feet (simultaneously). This is not a travel.
Correct, as described this is a legal jump stop regardless of the fumble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 06:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
SUppose this happend on a jump stop. The dribble ended when the player gathered the ball. He then jumps off one foot. He loses control momentarily and regains it before he comes down on both feet. This is not a travel.
The case play here is 4.44.3D, which when read in concert with 4.44.3A tells you it's a travel if the player jumps to shoot, intentionally releases the ball, then catches it before it hits the floor. Whether he lands before the ball is caught is irrelevant, also.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
I absolutely agree with that! I would think that fumbling the ball and landing with out the ball hitting the floor would be the same travell call
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
I absolutely agree with that! I would think that fumbling the ball and landing with out the ball hitting the floor would be the same travell call
You would
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Indiana...what do you mean by that?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 07:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
I absolutely agree with that! I would think that fumbling the ball and landing with out the ball hitting the floor would be the same travell call
And you're wrong.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I don't have my books with me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The case play here is 4.44.3D, which when read in concert with 4.44.3A tells you it's a travel if the player jumps to shoot, intentionally releases the ball, then catches it before it hits the floor. Whether he lands before the ball is caught is irrelevant, also.
Doesn't the case play have the ball fall to floor and then he is the first to touch it? Also, this is only if he jumps for a pass or an attempt. What if he is jumping off of one foot to begin a jump stop? He is not attempting a shot or a pass. The rule is clear that you can't lift your pivot foot and return it to the floor before releasing the ball on a pass or try, but the rule is also clear that you can jump off of one foot and land with both feet simultaneously and not be a travel.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 08:28am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Now that I'm actually reading the case play, I see that 4.44.3A isn't applicable at all. It involves a defender hitting the ball, so the "fumble" question isn't addressed in this case. As Nevada points out, the only relevant interp is from 2000-2001, but calling a travel because the player didn't release a pass or try is wrong-headed. By that logic, a player couldn't request a timeout. By that logic, a player couldn't even fumble it to a teammate without traveling.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Co-possession travel Rick Durkee Basketball 3 Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:16am
Loss of equipment before possession stevesmith Lacrosse 6 Mon Apr 12, 2004 01:35pm
Loss of one of our own CK Basketball 1 Mon Nov 25, 2002 03:05pm
Loss of Down on Try Ray Lutz Football 6 Fri Oct 18, 2002 01:20pm
SECOND loss for the U.S hawkk Basketball 2 Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1