![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
yes but
There is a case play that is partially on point. I don't have my book to give you the number, but it goes something like this. A1 goes up to shoot and seeing that his shot will be blocked drops the ball. The ball hits the floor. The ruling is a travel if he is the first to touch the ball. I see the OP as being similar. The OP doesn't say the ball touched the floor and that he was the first to touch it. If so, then I would agree with the travel call. But if he lost possession intentionally and regained possession in the air and the ball didn't touch the floor, I've got nothing.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
No I meant intentionally
There is no rule support that I know of that says a player can't INTENTIONALLY lose control of the ball while in the air. The case play that I sited above says its only a violation if the ball touches the floor and the player is the first too touch it. Again the case play isn't a 100% similar to the OP but it is close enough in my mind to give us some guidance. If the player intentionally loses control but regains it before he and the ball touches the floor I still have nothing.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Yes
You are correct.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Again I don't agree
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
|
Quote:
If it would have been illegal without the momentary release of the ball, it's still illegal. This all assumes intentional release, a fumble is a different animal of course.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Correct, as described this is a legal jump stop regardless of the fumble.
|
|
||||
|
The case play here is 4.44.3D, which when read in concert with 4.44.3A tells you it's a travel if the player jumps to shoot, intentionally releases the ball, then catches it before it hits the floor. Whether he lands before the ball is caught is irrelevant, also.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Co-possession travel | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:16am |
| Loss of equipment before possession | stevesmith | Lacrosse | 6 | Mon Apr 12, 2004 01:35pm |
| Loss of one of our own | CK | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 25, 2002 03:05pm |
| Loss of Down on Try | Ray Lutz | Football | 6 | Fri Oct 18, 2002 01:20pm |
| SECOND loss for the U.S | hawkk | Basketball | 2 | Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:28am |