The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 22, 2010, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
This was a question on this year's NCAAW rules exam. You are correct. I have posted the question, correct answer and official explanation from the NCAA.

Question: Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A1 is standing out of bounds and throws the ball directly onto the court. The pass is kicked by B1 and goes out of bounds. What is the result?
Answer: The ball is awarded to Team A for throw-in at the spot nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. The arrow remains with Team A.
Explanation 4-2.2; 6-3.2; 9-6; 9-15.1 – The alternating-possession throw-in did not end because the kick is not a legal touch; therefore, the arrow remains with Team A. Following the kicking violation, the ball is awarded to Team A for throw-in for the kicking violation nearest to where the ball was kicked.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1