Thread: Help PLease
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 22, 2010, 11:10am
BayStateRef BayStateRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
This was a question on this year's NCAAW rules exam. You are correct. I have posted the question, correct answer and official explanation from the NCAA.

Question: Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A1 is standing out of bounds and throws the ball directly onto the court. The pass is kicked by B1 and goes out of bounds. What is the result?
Answer: The ball is awarded to Team A for throw-in at the spot nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. The arrow remains with Team A.
Explanation 4-2.2; 6-3.2; 9-6; 9-15.1 – The alternating-possession throw-in did not end because the kick is not a legal touch; therefore, the arrow remains with Team A. Following the kicking violation, the ball is awarded to Team A for throw-in for the kicking violation nearest to where the ball was kicked.
Reply With Quote