The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Help PLease (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59820-help-please.html)

PIAA REF Mon Nov 22, 2010 08:27am

Help PLease
 
I cannot find my NCAA Casebook, can you give the the case play about the following:

A has ball for an AP throw-in, as ball is being passed in B intentionally kicks the ball, A recieves ball for kicking violation, A will also keep aarow for next AP throw-in.

I need the case if possible, I had a game, we had this play, my 2 partners over turned my ruling on this.

PLease Help

Thanks

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 22, 2010 09:14am

The closest I can find is AR 164 on page 72. Unfortunately, in that case play, there is a foul by the defense during the AP throw-in, rather than a kicked ball. In AR 161, there is a team control foul during the throw-in (again, not a kicked ball, unfortunately); but in the RULING, it says that "Team A retains the arrow since a throw-in did not touch or was not legally touched by an inbounds player and therefore did not end."

So although it's talking about a foul, it does say that the arrow doesn't change until the throw-in is legally touched inbounds. Since that didn't happen in your play, maybe you can use that to convince your buddies.

BayStateRef Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:10am

This was a question on this year's NCAAW rules exam. You are correct. I have posted the question, correct answer and official explanation from the NCAA.

Question: Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. A1 is standing out of bounds and throws the ball directly onto the court. The pass is kicked by B1 and goes out of bounds. What is the result?
Answer: The ball is awarded to Team A for throw-in at the spot nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. The arrow remains with Team A.
<form method="post" action="" id="AnswerForm" name="AnswerForm"> <input name="qIndex" id="qIndex" value="9804" type="hidden"> <input name="nextQuestionNumber" id="nextQuestionNumber" value="9805" type="hidden"> </form> <fieldset> <legend>Explanation</legend> 4-2.2; 6-3.2; 9-6; 9-15.1 – The alternating-possession throw-in did not end because the kick is not a legal touch; therefore, the arrow remains with Team A. Following the kicking violation, the ball is awarded to Team A for throw-in for the kicking violation nearest to where the ball was kicked.
</fieldset>

SAK Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:44am

Hopefully you told them that you think that they are doing the wrong thing and you went on record that you did not want to do it that way.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 702497)
This was a question on this year's NCAAW rules exam. You are correct. I have posted the question, correct answer and official explanation from the NCAA.

Have the answers and explanations for all the questions been posted? I can review "my" test, but not the questions that I didn't get.

BayStateRef Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 702502)
Have the answers and explanations for all the questions been posted? I can review "my" test, but not the questions that I didn't get.

Not that I can find. I have only my questions...and explanations are given only for those questions that are missed by at least 20 percent. Best I can do is ask my buddies for the explanations to the other questions.

Johnny Ringo Tue Nov 23, 2010 01:10am

Similar play:

To start a quarter, Team A as the arrow. A five-second violation is called when A1 does not release the ball on the throw-in.

Does ball goto Team B for the violation, but Team keeps arrow?

NFHS rule.

mbyron Tue Nov 23, 2010 06:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 702695)
Similar play:

To start a quarter, Team A as the arrow. A five-second violation is called when A1 does not release the ball on the throw-in.

Does ball goto Team B for the violation, but Team A keeps arrow?

NFHS rule.

Yes. No. 6-4 and 4-42-5

bob jenkins Tue Nov 23, 2010 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 702695)
Similar play:

To start a quarter, Team A as the arrow. A five-second violation is called when A1 does not release the ball on the throw-in.

Does ball goto Team B for the violation, but Team keeps arrow?

NFHS rule.

When does the arrow switch? It's a fundamental that all officials should have memorized.

Answer that and you'll own this question (and others like it that come up every couple of days).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1