![]() |
|
|
|||
Listen for the horn and the movement of her hands. She is moving the ball away from the UConn defender as the horn sounds.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Movement of hands does not mean possession. Let me ask my original question another way. A1 shoots and releases, shot clock horn sounds during try, ball does not hit rim. when do you blow whistle for shot clock violation? I believe anything other than a clean, uncontested rebound/possession by Team B merits a whistle. This includes: * touch by B2 * touch by A2 * ball hits floor untouched
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
How is this: Listen for the horn and WATCH the movement of her hands? Hopefully that clears it up for you. The rebound falls into her hands, she then proceedes to attempt to clear the ball away from the UConn defender. It is very difficult if not impossible to jerk the ball away from a defender if you do not have control.
The play you describe is not the play that happened. The Baylor player had control of the ball when the horn sounded. In your play the ball is still in the air when the horn sounds. |
|
|||
Jud-
So in your opinion, if UConn player takes the ball from the Baylor girl during her "securing", you would say legal and game over?
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
The key is the difference between "Securing" and "Secured"
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the horn sounds while the ball is in the air and the defensive team grabs the rebound, why is it a shot clock violation? |
|
|||
Quote:
See AR 225 (2) |
|
|||
Ncaa 9-11.2
total agreement with the rule interpretations, though i see it happen so often where the violation is not called if the defense rebounds the airball.
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA 9-11.2 "It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time or a try does not subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket." A.R. 225. A1 releases the ball on a try for goal. After the ball leaves A1’s hand(s), the shot-clock horn sounds. The ball: (2) Hits the backboard and rebounds directly to A2 or B1 without hitting the ring or flange; RULING: (2) A shot-clock violation by Team A has occurred because the try did not hit the ring or flange. The referee shall sound the whistle, and the ball shall be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred. (Rule 9-11.2)
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Wrong Adage ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
UNC/URI shot clock violation...? Or not | zeedonk | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 01, 2010 01:28pm |
Shot clock violation | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 1 | Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:14pm |
Shot Clock Violation? | OHBBREF | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:29pm |
SHOT CLOCK VIOLATION? | MRIGUY | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:58pm |
Is it a Shot Clock Violation? | RdBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 06, 2001 01:50pm |