![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the horn sounds while the ball is in the air and the defensive team grabs the rebound, why is it a shot clock violation? |
|
|||
Quote:
See AR 225 (2) |
|
|||
Ncaa 9-11.2
total agreement with the rule interpretations, though i see it happen so often where the violation is not called if the defense rebounds the airball.
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
Quote:
But, if it's clear, ... |
|
|||
Sometimes it's difficult to tell whether the horn came before the rebounder secured control of the ball, in which case I'll err on the side of letting play continue. But I've also had crew chiefs who pre-gamed that if the non-shooting team gets the rebound after the horn we're not going to whistle the violation.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
The only problem I have with that, and in the NCAA it could be different, but nobody is in control of the ball when the ball leaves the shooters hands. It is no longer controlled by Team A and when Team B grabs the ball, there should be no violation.
I see the rule. I understand. And I know NCAA and NF rules are totally different. But it seems like this should be consistent. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA 9-11.2 "It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time or a try does not subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket." A.R. 225. A1 releases the ball on a try for goal. After the ball leaves A1’s hand(s), the shot-clock horn sounds. The ball: (2) Hits the backboard and rebounds directly to A2 or B1 without hitting the ring or flange; RULING: (2) A shot-clock violation by Team A has occurred because the try did not hit the ring or flange. The referee shall sound the whistle, and the ball shall be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred. (Rule 9-11.2)
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Wrong Adage ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Perhaps. But it should be "Never argue with Bob." While not listening to Bob does sometimes get me into trouble, every time I argue with Bob...I lose.
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Here in California we have a shot clock for high school.
This topic has been going round on our association "Forum," The violation occurs when it is determined that the ball does not hit the rim, but we have some who think that we should re-set the game clock to where it was when the shot clock sounded and the ball subsequenlty did not hit the rim. I disagree with that, but there is no specific interpretation regarding that issue. Just looking for thoughts on this. We are contacting the state rules interpretor on this. |
|
|||
Quote:
That's the NBA rule.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
UNC/URI shot clock violation...? Or not | zeedonk | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 01, 2010 01:28pm |
Shot clock violation | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 1 | Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:14pm |
Shot Clock Violation? | OHBBREF | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:29pm |
SHOT CLOCK VIOLATION? | MRIGUY | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:58pm |
Is it a Shot Clock Violation? | RdBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 06, 2001 01:50pm |