The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 10:18am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
Disagree 100%. The Baylor player clearly had the ball prior to the horn sounding, thus no shot clock violation. After she had possession of the rebound she bobbled/hesitated but that has no effect on a shot clock.
She touched the ball, but never possessed it. Remember that control is HOLDING or DRIBBLING the ball. She did not clearly control the ball until after it bounced, clearly after the horn, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
She touched the ball, but never possessed it. Remember that control is HOLDING or DRIBBLING the ball. She did not clearly control the ball until after it bounced, clearly after the horn, IMHO.
She had two hands on the ball as the horn sounds. Even makes a move to keep the ball from the defender. I cant see the ball hit the ground from the ESPN view, it looks more like she MAY have lost control of the ball as she was swinging it away from the defender. Even if it did hit the floor, it was after she had the rebound secured.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 10:59am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
She had two hands on the ball as the horn sounds. Even makes a move to keep the ball from the defender.
Wow, I saw the replay twice and that's not what I saw at all. I'm going to search for a clip online now. If you're right, I'll have to adjust my comments, but I didn't see it that way at all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 11:10am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
I could only find one clip with a quick search and it's the clip I saw on SportsCenter. I could not tell if the ball hit the floor before she controlled it, I have to admit. But I still don't think she controlled it cleanly before the clock was at zero.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I could only find one clip with a quick search and it's the clip I saw on SportsCenter. I could not tell if the ball hit the floor before she controlled it, I have to admit. But I still don't think she controlled it cleanly before the clock was at zero.
Listen for the horn and the movement of her hands. She is moving the ball away from the UConn defender as the horn sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
Listen for the horn and the movement of her hands. She is moving the ball away from the UConn defender as the horn sounds.
How do you listen for movement of her hands?

Movement of hands does not mean possession.

Let me ask my original question another way. A1 shoots and releases, shot clock horn sounds during try, ball does not hit rim. when do you blow whistle for shot clock violation?

I believe anything other than a clean, uncontested rebound/possession by Team B merits a whistle. This includes:

* touch by B2
* touch by A2
* ball hits floor untouched
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
How is this: Listen for the horn and WATCH the movement of her hands? Hopefully that clears it up for you. The rebound falls into her hands, she then proceedes to attempt to clear the ball away from the UConn defender. It is very difficult if not impossible to jerk the ball away from a defender if you do not have control.
The play you describe is not the play that happened. The Baylor player had control of the ball when the horn sounded. In your play the ball is still in the air when the horn sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizanno View Post
Let me ask my original question another way. A1 shoots and releases, shot clock horn sounds during try, ball does not hit rim. when do you blow whistle for shot clock violation?

I believe anything other than a clean, uncontested rebound/possession by Team B merits a whistle. This includes:

* touch by B2
* touch by A2
* ball hits floor untouched
You're wrong. If the horn sounds during the try, then it's a violation as soon as the try ends (in this example, likely to be when it's evident that the try will not be successful). Even if B gets the "rebound" it's a vioaltion (the vioaltion happens before that).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UNC/URI shot clock violation...? Or not zeedonk Basketball 5 Thu Apr 01, 2010 01:28pm
Shot clock violation Terrapins Fan Basketball 1 Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:14pm
Shot Clock Violation? OHBBREF Basketball 8 Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:29pm
SHOT CLOCK VIOLATION? MRIGUY Basketball 9 Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:58pm
Is it a Shot Clock Violation? RdBallRef Basketball 7 Tue Nov 06, 2001 01:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1