The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 09:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Snaq's point, right or wrong, is that the free throw shooter is not entering or leaving a marked lane space and is never required to be in the 36"x36" space, so this rule does not apply to him/her.
Um no, that logic is completely wrong. Snaqs' statement was.."I would say that touching the floor in the lane does not constitute leaving the MARKED LANE SPACE." NFHS rule 9-1-3d contradicts that statement. That was my point. There is no mention of the FT shooter in his statement, only references to marked lane spaces.

If he hadda said that touching the floor in the lane does not constitute "have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the edge of the free-throw line which is farther from the basket.." by the FT shooter, as laid out in a completely different rule (9-1-3e), then we would have a completely different discussion.

Now you tell me, Skippy.....

If a FT shooter loses his balance and touches the lane in front of his FT line with either the ball or a hand(s), is that a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
If a FT shooter loses his balance and touches the lane in front of his FT line with either the ball or a hand(s), is that a violation?
I could not find a violation on the FT shooter or any player located behind the 3 pt line.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 10:08am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
I could not find a violation on the FT shooter or any player located behind the 3 pt line.
Iow, we have 2 completely separate and conflicting rules philosophies?

Touching the floor outside a marked lane space constitutes leaving that marked lane space, but touching the floor outside the free-throw semicircle does not constitute leaving the semicircle and touching the floor inside the three-point arc does not constitute entering the area inside the arc.

Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2010, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Iow, we have 2 completely separate and conflicting rules philosophies?

Touching the floor outside a marked lane space constitutes leaving that marked lane space, but touching the floor outside the free-throw semicircle does not constitute leaving the semicircle and touching the floor inside the three-point arc does not constitute entering the area inside the arc.

Correct?
Correct. Depends on what you are touching the floor with.

Edit: Foot breaking the plane would be the violation, which comes before the foot touching the floor.

Last edited by Indianaref; Mon Nov 08, 2010 at 10:37am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Throw violation Coach Bill Basketball 11 Thu Oct 16, 2008 02:53pm
Free-Throw Violation? tjones1 Basketball 14 Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:39pm
Free Throw Violation? BSHAUNJEN Basketball 1 Fri Sep 19, 2003 05:52pm
Free Throw Violation wb-ref Basketball 5 Mon Dec 23, 2002 12:57pm
Free Throw violation? JWC Basketball 7 Tue Jan 23, 2001 08:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1