![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
That statement is a direct contradiction of the actual rule which says: NFHS rule 9-1-3d..."No player shall enter a marked lane space or leave a marked lane space by contacting the court outside the the 36-inch by 36-inch space." Methinks your thinking needs re-thinking.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If he hadda said that touching the floor in the lane does not constitute "have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the edge of the free-throw line which is farther from the basket.." by the FT shooter, as laid out in a completely different rule (9-1-3e), then we would have a completely different discussion. Now you tell me, Skippy..... ![]() If a FT shooter loses his balance and touches the lane in front of his FT line with either the ball or a hand(s), is that a violation? |
|
|||
|
I could not find a violation on the FT shooter or any player located behind the 3 pt line.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Touching the floor outside a marked lane space constitutes leaving that marked lane space, but touching the floor outside the free-throw semicircle does not constitute leaving the semicircle and touching the floor inside the three-point arc does not constitute entering the area inside the arc. Correct? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Edit: Foot breaking the plane would be the violation, which comes before the foot touching the floor. Last edited by Indianaref; Mon Nov 08, 2010 at 10:37am. |
|
|||
|
While you may have not explained it clearly, the result is the same. That editorial clarification clarified that touching the floor outside of a space you are limited to is the same as leaving that space. Being an editorial clarification, it can easily be extended to the parallel rule for the FT shooter that requires that the FT shooter not leave the semi-circle.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And also for someone outside the 3-point arc not to enter the arc by touching the court inside the arc. |
|
|||
|
So we are giving players lined up on a free throw a violation if they touch inside the the lane with their hand, but we aren't giving the free throw shooter a violation for the same thing??? Why does the Fed do that, that makes no sense to do something like that! What would be their reasoning to not give the free throw shooter the violation too?
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I don't see how we can assume the same thing applies to the shooter when it is specified to be just for the players along the lane. My theory (someone may have information to the contrary) was that this was added to stop a player leaving the back of the space trying to come around to gain inside rebounding position.
Besides, has anyone ever seen the shooter lose his balance and touch the floor with his hand to regain it?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Thjat's just logical to me. Makes no sense to have conflicting rulings on what is essentially identical plays.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Free Throw violation | Coach Bill | Basketball | 11 | Thu Oct 16, 2008 02:53pm |
| Free-Throw Violation? | tjones1 | Basketball | 14 | Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:39pm |
| Free Throw Violation? | BSHAUNJEN | Basketball | 1 | Fri Sep 19, 2003 05:52pm |
| Free Throw Violation | wb-ref | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 23, 2002 12:57pm |
| Free Throw violation? | JWC | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jan 23, 2001 08:59pm |