![]() |
|
|||
visible counts
Is the three second lane violation given a visible count ? If not ,is it the only count that is not visible ? seems like I've read it somewhere, but can't find it now.
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Hecky no.
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Not sure, I never asked why... thinking about it, perhaps its because of the allowance we give a player who catches the ball after being in the lane for a couple counts??
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
I do not know for sure, but how can anyone tell between a 5 closely guarded count and a 3 second count? Considering that the overall philosophy to call 3 seconds is based on something that most people would not know anyway as the count stops and starts very quickly all the time, I do not see why you would want that count.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
perfect lead in for my next question: wouldn't the count continue whether the individual had the ball or not as he/she is still in the lane. the only allowance i find is for starting a drive to the basket. I ask because as a newbie ,I know more experienced refs kick this one sometimes as well.
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Quote:
As a newbie, do not worry about things that are really insignificant in the bigger picture. Just do what is asked and then go from there. None of us really know unless we write the procedure anyway. We at this time do not give a count for that (and there has never been such a count in my years of officiating) so why worry about it now? As I said before, it would probably be confusing if we were giving multiple counts for multiple things at the same time. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Quote:
This is a basic principle of officiating. Read a rule a day & focus on Rule 4 to gain a better understanding of the rules of the game.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Upward ref |
|
|||
Well, heres a partial reasoning I got for it. Imagine how many times a ref will (or possibly) start a 3 second count during a game. Can you just imgaine your arms after a game? In my first season, I only called 3 seconds once. All the others I started to count got stopped.
|
|
|||
There's no visible count cause it would be pointless and confusing. What happens when there are multiple players in the lane? How would you show multiple counts? Are you gonna use two hands for two separate counts? What about three? You'd look pretty silly out there doing that. Unlike a five second count for a throw in, closely guarded count, or a ten second count for the backcourt, everyone knows what the visible count is for, when it starts, and how to end it (or should know).
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Speaking of Visible Counts..Part 2 | FrankHtown | Basketball | 27 | Mon Nov 05, 2007 11:01am |
Speaking of visible counts... | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 54 | Thu Oct 18, 2007 04:47pm |
Visible Counts | PAT THE REF | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:02pm |
VISIBLE 5 SECOND COUNT | johnfox | Basketball | 15 | Tue Jan 28, 2003 08:12am |
visible counts | Matt S. | Basketball | 14 | Wed Nov 15, 2000 01:07pm |