![]() |
|
|||
|
That silly interp directly contradicts the ruling in part (a) of this NFHS Case Book play. Note that NO VIOLATION occurs for the action in part (a). That's neither a backcourt violation or a 10-second count violation.
9.8 SITUATION D: Team A is in control in its backcourt for seven seconds. A1 throws the ball toward A2 in the frontcourt. B1 jumps from Team A’s: (a) frontcourt; or (b) backcourt and while in the air bats the ball back to A1 in A’s backcourt. Does this give Team A 10 more seconds to get the ball to the frontcourt? RULING: Yes, in (a), a new count starts because B1 had frontcourt location when touching the ball thus giving the ball frontcourt location. In (b), the original count continues as Team A is still in control and the ball has not gone to frontcourt. (4- 4-2; 4-3; 4-35-1) |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| backcourt front court violation | furlu55 | Basketball | 31 | Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:58pm |
| Front court status | tjchamp | Basketball | 4 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 02:48am |
| Front court toot of whistle | Self | Basketball | 8 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 08:25pm |
| Flying catch, front court or back | coachpig | Basketball | 3 | Fri Dec 05, 2003 11:16pm |
| front or back court status? | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 5 | Tue Nov 07, 2000 04:08pm |